Organising the Kitchen

For organisation in the kitchen I like to use several ideas, Howards Storage World have some really good drawer and pantry organisers.  Having dividers and containers (with or without lids) is a great way to keep things looking tidy and uncluttered, I always struggle with the second drawer in my kitchen because we put all the things that don’t belong in the top drawer there, then not only does it look cluttered and messy, but we can never find anything we’re looking for.  That’s one of the hardest things to stay on top of in the kitchen.

Image taken from homelife.com.au
As for the pantry there are some interesting ways to keep it organised, there are some really good ideas from Howards Storage World and Ikea.  But my favourite is the Tupperware modula sets, there are shapes and sizes for almost anything, and you can customise your purchase, or by having a party you can plan what you want and put the party sales towards it.
Taken from Tupperware.com.au
If you have the extra money and would like to eliminate a few appliances from the kitchen, I would recommend a Thermomix.  It cooks, kneads, blends, chops, beats, mills, stirs and steams.  It’s strong enough to blend ice, and make icy’s or smoothies, and cooks soups, sauces, kneads bread etc.
I like to use containers in the fridge to keep left overs fresh and tidy, and I like to keep my fruit and veggies in containers in the crisper as they seem to last longer, especially with the Tupperware Fridgesmart line.  I find carrots last for a few weeks rather than a few days when I used to leave them on the bench.
A few tips for organising the kitchen:
  • Label bench shelves/drawers so visitors or your other half have no excuse to put things in the wrong place
  • Make sure everything has a place – if it doesn’t either make one or re-home
  • Date left overs if need be and have a clean up of the fridge once a week
  • Make an inventory of the pantry/fridge/freezer for shopping days and a check list so you can tick the things you need (there’s a great example on the Organised Housewife’s Blog – it’s a paid printable, but a great example)
  • Hang a cork board or white board inside the pantry door – alternatively use the fridge as a white board
Meal Planning:
I often post templates and examples of my meal plans, which don’t always go to plan but are a great way to keep organised in the kitchen.  I like to have a think about what I would like to cook for the week and get the ingredients in preparation, I find nothing more annoying than having to go to the supermarket on my way home from work each day.The cork/white board idea above is a great way to organise a meal plan.  Especially with kids, you can make up a list of their favourite meals and add in a few new ideas from time to time and see what becomes a hit with the family.  I like to use them as a reference for what we haven’t eaten in a while, I’ve noticed that a lot of the time we eat the same things, and we get sick of them.  I also struggle to think of new ideas, so I think it’s a great idea to have a list of your repertoire to mix things up a little.If you’re interested in a meal plan template, keep an eye out in my “meal planning” menu or category list in the side bar.  I will have a template you can download, and some ideas in future posts.

If you have any ideas I haven’t covered here, I would love to hear about them.  Feel free to comment.

There are a few problem areas I still face, such as storage for mugs and glasses.  I always find I have so many and they take up so much space in my cupboard.  Glasses and appliances are my next focus in the kitchen.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Getting Organised, Meal Planning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

