The Plan “2013”

As I mentioned in my “about me” I am working at my bigger picture this year.  I feel like I have “floated” for too long.  It’s time to get serious about this thing we call life.  So I decided the only way I could do this is to break everything down into goals, I began these as new years resolutions as we all do, but I hope to put a bit more of a seriousness to them this time.

Like everyone I think I can do a little work on myself – although I have lost a lot of weight over the last few years and I am probably at an ideal place now but I would like to tone and eat better.  My problem is that I don’t tend to stick to exercise regimes and I will go hard at it for a few weeks then get really slack.  So one of my goals is to sustain a healthier diet and stick to some strength training exercises.

I have had a major lifestyle change recently when I started a new job, I now work full time whereas in the past my work hours have always varied.  So now my plan is to get into a good over-all routine, for home that means getting the house organised which was the reason for the posts on decluttering and organising by rooms.  I plan to do those things I listed over the next few months.

I figure that in order to get myself into some kind of order I need to get my surroundings organised.  I can’t be calm when I have so much chaos around me, I have trouble just writing when the desk is a mess and I can’t move my mouse far enough to cross the computer screen.

I am also saving for my own home, this is the hardest challenge for me.  Don’t get me wrong, when I want something bad enough I can motivate myself, but I have found that this is a “longer-term” goal, which makes it hard at times when I feel like I’ve done without for so long.  But, I think in order to maintain this goal this year I will have to treat myself occasionally, and keep my eye on the prize.

The plan is to make some smaller changes, I think making a lifestyle change has to be like starting a new diet.  Take it in small steps!  I have made a few small changes already, but there is more work to be done.  I am thinking of making a “dream board”, where I can put a picture or word of the things I want and put it in a visible place to remind me of my goals when motivation is down.

My final plan is to re-activate my social life – I have had so much trouble maintaining friendships lately.  In saying that I haven’t lost any friends, but I certainly don’t put in as much effort as I should, and that is something I would really like to change and visit my family more.  I often blame my new job for lacking in this department, but I need to start making more time.

I hope to use this blog to make me accountable, and if I can create a space for motivation, either here or by linking to my facebook page I would love to help keep others motivated in times of need too.  It’s something so simple, that we can all help each other with when life gets in the way.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

