Wardrobe Organisation/Storage Solution

I am moving in five weeks time and I have a few things to consider.  It’s a temporary solution for the moment but my partner and I are about to share with a work colleague and her partner, so I have a few things I need to get to adapt to.

We will have our own room (obviously), and our own bathroom, but we share the laundry, kitchen and we’ll have our own living space off the open plan kitchen/dining.  So I’ve decided it’s time to do all the culling I was talking about in previous posts, and I want to get some organised systems in place, including a laundry routine as the current one might not fit in and meal planning will be a definite need.  Since we will be sharing a fridge and freezer it will help to be organised and I will still need to prepare things for work since I still get varying rosters and by the time I move in I will be working in a different department, so it’s hard to predict my roster.

I went window shopping today, to suss out the prices of a few things I will need to purchase.  Since we have a king size bed and the room is relatively small (about 3 x 3 metres) we are considering purchasing a futon, as we’d like to have a desk in there too (and currently we fit all of this with a queen bed) it shouldn’t be too hard.  We were thinking as a space saver we could fold the futon down to sleep, and during the day we could have it up to sit comfortably to read, watch tv in privacy, play games or just to give us more space to have chairs at the desk.  Still throwing a few ideas around at the moment.  But a futon seems like a great space saving idea for a short term fix, and we just like to have our own space sometimes, so it makes sense to have that space in the bedroom.

I’m not sure if I posted this before but I have a few items I wouldn’t mind getting from Howards Storage World too, just to keep everything neat and organised.  Since the purpose of this move is to save money I don’t want to spend too much in the process, so I’ll keep this to a minimum.  There’s a laundry hamper which I’m sure could be purchased anywhere depending on your needs and preferences, but I really like this one.
Laundry Hamper

Image taken from Howards Storage World

Image taken from Howards Storage World

Since the bedroom will be our only safe haven, we will be attempting to keep our valuables in there, which is why it was so important to us that we have ample storage.  We will be having a 4 door built in wardrobe, but with what I plan to store in there, and we have to get our clothes in too we will have some limitations.  That’s where I think this Neat Freak Hanging Organiser might be a great way to keep the wardrobe organised.  As our cupboard has only one shelf across the top and just a hanging rod I was hoping to make the most of the space with a few hanging organisers, including one for shoes, and hopefully fit my tall boy in there too.

Image taken from Howards Storage World

Image taken from Howards Storage World

I think this will cater for shoes and storing a few odds and ends.

I am very interested in space-saving ideas and obviously have a bit more research to do until I find a perfect solution.  I love the idea of having my own house some day hopefully not too far in the future and planning out efficient ways of utilising the space.  I’ve seen some awesome uses of lofts, and cupboards to hide computer desks and small offices.   I am very excited about this move, but I have a lot of things to sort through and some decisions to make.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Getting Organised, How To's and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

