Things To-Do When Moving House

As I am moving soon I have a few things to consider.

Do I want to re-direct my mail? Well I was thinking about just getting a post office box I was considering having everything sent there, that way if I move again soon I don’t have to worry about redirecting again, so long as I don’t move too far.

Here’s a list of places you might need to re-direct mail from or update contact details with:

  • Insurance
  • Phone/Internet providers
  • Paytv/foxtel
  • Energy companies
  • Water companies
  • Storage facilities
  • Bank branches
  • Work
  • Friends
  • Family
  • Election
  • Local library
  • Ebay/Paypal
  • Delivery services
  • Subscriptions
  • RTA
  • Doctors surgery
  • Medicare
  • iTunes

The list goes on and on. No doubt I always forget something, but I am at least leaving a family residence so I can have my mail forwarded to me, but that is not always the case. Be very careful because the wrong mail that hasn’t been redirected can cause some nasty trouble. I once had an interest free account on some furniture I bought and I thought I’d paid it up, but the institution never deleted my old details so the mail continued to be sent to my old address and I assumed I’d paid it all up (all that was owing was $30) and I was black listed and “banned for life” without realising anything was wrong. By the time I did find out and the institution realised what went wrong my account was reinstated but I can only imagine what that may have done to my credit rating, or how bad it could have become if it happened with the wrong people. It’s very important to keep tabs on your mail. Even on bank statements, we always hear about people who have a small amounts deducted from their accounts and before you know it the amount becomes substantial, so it’s important to keep an eye on your financial activity.

Back on track… I also need to consider if I should get a removalist, hire a truck or borrow a van from family. One one hand the removalist has insurance but costs more, if I hire a truck I could fit everything in at once and it’s cheaper than the man power, but if I borrow the van all I pay for is fuel but I will have to take many trips. Part of me thinks it would be nice to have the peace of mind, but I will have to get a quote on a 45min – 1hr trip and two pickups.

Currently we are weighing up our internet service. My partner spends a lot of time with online gaming, so we obviously need a good connection, however I have an iPad and android phone, one with a good provider and when with one that often has unreliable service. I took my phone to the house I am moving to yesterday to find I have a poor reception on my phone (the unreliable service), so I know I will be fine with my ipad and that’s all I really need from home. I can always go outside to make a call. The people we’re moving in with have no plans of a fixed internet service at home, at least for a little while, so we might have to think about a wireless wifi set up and my partner will have to make do with what we have in the meantime. To my knowledge those are our only options anyway. But maybe he will get more work done without the distraction while we figure out the fixed line. And, I have noticed of the people I know most only have a landline for their internet connection, however who knows where that will end up when we have naked DSL (?) equally available.

Moving houses seems like such a simple aspect, just pack up all your belongings and take them to a new location. However, now we have so many services and bills, our lives are very complicated, we have to consider so many different things. I am sure I have only mentioned the tip of the iceberg, I live a pretty minimalist existence or try to. I don’t have kids, so I assume that would complicate things further, it would involve school changes and friendships. I can maintain contact with my friends and family and I’m only moving 45mins away. But, it still seems like I have so much to think about, and it will all sort itself out as it gets closer.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Getting Organised and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

