Hoping to Become a Healthier Me

Since I’m using this blog to be accountable it’s only fair that I post about my new plan for fitness and health.

My partner and I have decided we want to start eating better and get into a “better” shape.  He wants to start by getting into some home made soup, I’ve decided I should do something I haven’t done in years, to get my serves of fruit and veggies in.  So I have a shopping list for tomorrow to start our new healthy eating plan, it’s not a big change.  Although we go out for food a fair bit at the moment I often order scrambled eggs on toast, or try to go with a healthy option like pasta or salad, I avoid pizza at all costs where possible.  I don’t like fast food all that much so it’s not that hard, but I have been going with the easy option lately at work, hot cross buns for lunch or dinner and reaching for the chocolate or sugar when I’m tired and exhausted.  Which was a lot last week, I think due to a new medication I started for my migraines.

In addition to the healthy eating I started an exercise plan today, I’m hoping to do a little exercise each day, 15mins at the very least.  Today I jogged for about 40mins, I found my endurance has improved which was surprising because I exercise here and there, but not regular enough to have too much effect.  Recently we started focusing on some upper and middle body strength, I don’t have much upper body strength so we started push ups, and I have no trouble at all with ab crunches since my days with Billy’s bootcamp (a tae bo dvd that’s awesome).

I just wanted to share this, as I don’t want to have this die off again, I want to continue and see if I can reshape and tone my body.  Since the 42 kilos I lost in the last few years has taken almost as much a toll on my body as putting it on, sure I’m probably healthier without it, but it didn’t return to “normal” the way I thought it would and I think it’s going to take some time.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Health/Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

