How-To: A Packing Strategy

This is my last night for this roster. Yay! I can’t wait to get everything back to normal. Whatever that is. But, it does mean two new changes for me, I will be moving to a new department at work, and we have a little over a week until the move.

My partner and I don’t see eye to eye on the moving strategy, and that’s part of the reason I haven’t really packed anything yet, plus there’s no hurry to vacate our current residence. I’m the kind of person who likes to get in and get things done, but he likes to put off things he’s not looking forward to. He wants to move in gradually, but I’d like to get all our stuff into the new place and start getting things organised and sorted ASAP. So I have a bit of a strategy, I’m planning to start on the things that can be done now, like culling clothes (I think I mentioned this before – but just put it in the “too hard basket”), mind you there’s no clothes in a basket, that would be at least a start.

I’ve decided to take a two-category plan of attack. This means putting everything into either “using currently” or “pack up”. I’m planning to start this tomorrow, this means I can prioritize and find myself a great place to start. Once I get through the things we currently don’t need I can start looking at kitchen appliances, packing up clothes I know I won’t use in the next week etc. unfortunately even from my desk at work I can’t relax about this, I am currently planning what to do next, I have an app for making lists. I even have an app that allows me to categories my to do list, sometimes I make a shopping list and synch it with my partners phone so I can get him to do the shopping, or make him a “to-do” list of things I hoped might get done during the day. He’s pretty good though, I don’t ask a great deal of him and he really just needs a reminder or he forgets.

Organising a Packing Strategy:

Pack up clothes you know you won’t need (winter if its currently summer etc)
Appliances in the kitchen you won’t need/utensils
BBQ and outdoor cooking
Kids toys (not that that’s an issue for me)
Start pulling apart furniture early – for me that will be our desk and bed
Clean out the car to maximize space for taking loads
Line up any help you might need on the day
Book the truck well in advance
Prepare a few meals and snacks for the day and a day or two following, just easy things to prevent last minute take aways
Pack your boxes strategically and label them so you know where to place it at the other end

Try and organise to move everything on the day, that way you can relax and only need to call on extra hands for the one day. And try opting for a BBQ after, and consider providing drinks afterwards if your helpers are into that sort of thing.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Getting Organised, How To's and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

