Meal Plan: Night Shift

I am working nights this week, I struggled this morning after not being able to sleep yesterday before the start of my nights, but luckily I got a lift home so that wasn’t so bad and I slept in the car on my way home.

The question is what and when should you eat on night shift?  The night nurses at work all tell me to eat protein for breakfast because it will help me to sleep, the last thing I want is to wake up hungry and not be able to get back to sleep.  My last night duty stint was like that and I was lucky to get 4hours sleep each day for the first week, then by the time I got into a good sleep routine during the day it was all over and I had to start sleeping through the night which was of course quite a challenge.

Since the advice of the nurses at work, I decided to to a little research.  I found that it’s a good idea to have some protein for breakfast, but not a large meal.  Lunch should be the biggest meal since it’s after the sleep period (which would normally be the “break-fast”), and dinner should be something to keep me going through the shift with possibly a snack around 4am of fruit, crackers…  Something light.

So my meal plan goes like this:

Breakfast: Cereal + fruit or muesli and yoghurt – maybe combined with a protein drink

Lunch: Fish and vegetables (steamed)

Dinner: Fruit

Snack: Dried fruit and crackers with hummus dip

 

I don’t mind eating a lot of vegetables for dinner, but I do like to mix them up a little.  I listed steamed vegetables for this plan, but tomorrow I might alternate with oven bake vegetables, and when placed in those silicon baking forms you don’t need oil to keep them from sticking.  Also I like pasta, so I might mix it up with a ravioli dish or pasta bake, or a vegetable bake.  And, I might even throw in a hard boiled egg for breakfast to mix things up.

The hardest part of nights is exercise, but like meals I think it’s easier if you plan ahead.  I did a little bit of strength today because it’s too dark not to go for a run, but soon I can duck off to the gym before going back to work.

What is your strategy when you have a change in your normal routine?  I need to have a plan of attack prior.  Today I was wondering how I could get my protein breakfast when I was so tired I fell asleep in the car on the way home (remembering someone else was driving it).  So I went to a cafe for a quick bacon and scrambled eggs on turkish toast, it was a nice idea, but I ended up eating too much and went to bed feeling uncomfortable, and woke up still full.  Hopefully my new plan will leave me feeling better tomorrow.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Meal Planning and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Meal Plan: Night Shift

  1. Shanti Ihnen says:

    I like the valuable info you provide in your articles. I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here regularly. I’m quite certain I’ll learn many new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

    • Thank you, it’s nice to get some feedback on what I’m writing about. I tend to think that I’m not the only person dealing with these issues or ideas, and I like reading about other people’s journeys and ideas, so I decided to share my own. 🙂

  2. kizi says:

    I would read much more on this subject if the info provided were as interesting as what you might have written in this post. Don’t stop caring about the content you write.

  3. friv says:

    Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I’ve really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. After all I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  4. Today, I went to the beachfront with my kids.

    I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She placed the shell
    to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear.
    She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is completely
    off topic but I had to tell someone!

  5. kongregate says:

    Its like you read my mind! You appear to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think which you could do with a few pics to drive the message home a bit, but other than that, this is wonderful weblog. A fantastic read. I’ll undoubtedly be back.

  6. It’s actually a nice and useful piece of information. I am satisfied that you simply shared this helpful info with us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

  7. friv says:

    I like the valuable information you provide in your articles. I will bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently. I’m quite certain I will learn plenty of new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

  8. ben10 says:

    Music began playing anytime I opened this site, so irritating!

  9. Thank you for the positive comments. This post was something I really struggle with, and it’s so hard to maintain any kind of routine on a rotating roster, that’s why I have so many posts about struggling with meal options and exercise schedules. When I travel an hr to get to work it’s hard to balance everything on work days/nights.

    I hope my future posts are just as helpful/interesting 🙂

  10. car games says:

    Enjoyed searching at this, really good stuff, thanks .

  11. 2013 5:27 PM says:

    That is a very good tip particularly to those
    fresh to the blogosphere. Short but very accurate info… Appreciate your sharing this one.

    A must read post!

Leave a Reply

