Planning Around the Unplannable and Avoiding Old Habits

Meal plans for this week coming up, I don’t know about you but when I have days off work I end up with a small opportunity to catch up with people, and this usually is in the form of meals, eating out together.

I have mentioned this issue with regards to my partner in the past, he likes to go out and enjoy the experience of a restaurant, I’m not going to lie, I love to do this too, but since I lost over 40kilos in the last few years, food is obviously a major issue for me.

I used to eat when I was bored, and look forward to my next meal, I think since it gave me something to think about, prepare and do.  I also don’t have a very high tolerance for the famished feeling.  It seems to come and go with me, I can get into a routine where I don’t have to eat much to feel full, but then I go through these phases where I just crave things, however now I have a few coping strategies.  Mostly I find that distraction works, find something to do, and exercise is working a treat at the moment.  I know that seems odd but I rarely eat very close to exercise.  I find that if I eat before going for a run I get cramps, and when I get home I’m just not hungry for a few hours.  I assume I have a slow metabolism too because I often find that it takes me about 6-8 hours to feel hungry again after a meal, where as in the past I used to feel hungry again rather quickly and I could put a lot of food away.  Over-eating is a big problem that’s why it’s easier to control at home.

As you can imagine I don’t have a very good eating pattern, eating around 1-2 meals a day so I have to try and make sure I get the most out of them.  On my recent night shifts however I ate snack sizes and ate 2-3 times during the 10hours I was at work, mostly fruit, crackers and a few pieces of raisin toast.  Night duty always knocks my routine out of whack, so I plan to get back on top of things this week.

This week I have afternoon shifts and morning shifts, meaning some days I have to either have left overs ready or I’ll have to cook in the morning before work – these are the challenges and I just have to work around them.

Here’s my plan for the week – keeping in mind life doesn’t always go according to plan:

Slide1

 

 

Click on the image to read if it’s too small

I’ve just allowed for the two meals because either I have breakfast if I have a late start, and not eat until dinner time at work (which is usually around 5 and way too early for me), or if I work the morning I have breakfast of fruit or cereal around 9:30 (which is our morning tea) then I’ll have a snack on the way home and cook dinner as normal.

In order to keep the shopping controllable  I try and use the same snacks for the week, keep dinners ingredients similar (you’ll notice this weeks ingredients are predominantly vegetables), you could add chicken, tuna etc as desired.  I also keep some vegetarian sausage rolls in the freezer for quick fix ideas, they’re full of nuts and herbs and taste just like “normal” sausage rolls.  We don’t really eat dessert here, but fruit or homemade bakes like brownies are just as good.

I find the easiest way to break a bad meal cycle is to plan ahead, if I let my partner know what the plan is I find it means he can’t tempt me with weaknesses.  And, above all stay motivated, exercise whenever I get the chance, and if all else fails think about the effort it will take to burn off that snack!

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Meal Planning and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

