How-To: Kick a Habit

I’m sure we all have habits we’re not proud of; biting nails, grinding our teeth, shopping, over spending, eating out, drinking coffee etc… The list probably goes on and on and on. But, I believe we can do anything we put our minds to.

This year is all about finally conquering those New Years resolutions, finally putting strategies in place to finally take them seriously. I decided this year I would try to get in shape, tone up and get fitter… So far I’m doing better than I usually do. I am trying harder to save money so I ensure every month money goes into savings even if I take it out later, I usually take out far less than I would if I hadn’t banked it at all.

So what does it take to kick a habit? They say 30 days… Well I have quit biting my nails twice, both times I stuck it out for at least a month and the second time was longer than the first. Both longer than 21 days. But, I didn’t “want” to kick it, it didn’t worry me either way, and eventually I forgot about it, but sometimes replaced it. (In the end I just didn’t like the way it felt)

So what I read is similar to starting a diet and making lifestyle changes, gradually but small changes at a time.

Make a list of what you want to change, if its smoking think about changing your thought process… Do you smoke socially, or light one for something to do? Pay attention to your pattern and curve it, try replacing it with a glass of water etc and see how you go.

I want to create new habits, I have a few issues to address, such as drinking more water, drinking less caffeine, and not snacking when I’m bored. Oh and facing the gym despite the time of day. I even need to try taking on another class.

Get out of your comfort zone! Try something each day, even if its the same thing that you know has been working.

Here’s my plan:

Drink more water – carry a water bottle
Cut back snacks and unhealthy food – don’t buy junk food, and only prepare what I want to eat, have a small snack and wait, am I still hungry?
Go to the gym – don’t think, just do it, find someone to go with
Cut back caffeine – no more energy drinks, less than 4 cups of coffee/day

All of those ideas can be adapted, for little ideas to curb habits.

The main thing here is dedication, you have to want it bad enough, so find your inspiration first!

What will you quit? What or who makes you accountable?

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in How To's and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How-To: Kick a Habit

  1. Well I’ve started already to cut back on unhealthy snacks (but still have a space for them in my life as my mind hates deprivation), and have just made the resolution to cut back on coffee as it was making me a little too wired! Glad to see I’m not the only one battling the bad habits!

    • Definitely. And thanks for sharing. I am very weak when it comes to things I know I shouldn’t have. My partner and I are as bad as each other, that’s why our diets need curving. Last night we went out for Indian and I know I shouldn’t because I have no control, but it’s so tempting. We have a new plan to have our treats on date night, but so far it’s already been broken. I have so far kept to the two dinners out rule for this challenge so far. 🙂

  2. Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and I find It truly useful & it helped me out much.
    I hope to give something back and help others like you helped me.

Leave a Reply

