How-To: Pack Up House and Home in a Week

Well we have left the rental rat race just as quickly as we entered.  I was starting to feel like we weren’t getting anywhere, I felt like the agent I was applying with had decided not to go with us and just not told us.  I called in today because we decided to go and look at another place that was just around the corner from their office, I asked how the application was going and was told I would know soon, then not long after I left I got a call to say our application was successful.  JACKPOT!  No more stress over applications and worrying about annoying my friends and work colleagues with references.  We sign the lease next week, and now I’m organising a few things, like a moving truck and making a list of where we have to change our address.  I really should have started earlier and made a start on the packing, but I’ve been a little relaxed on that front, and now we have a week to get organised.

How-To Pack Up House and Home in a Week:

So I have a plan to pack up in an organised manner.   Here is the plan:

Friday: (tomorrow)

  • Get boxes from work
  • Start sorting through clothes – hopefully I can minimise my collection
  • Sort out the spare room and the garage – re-box

Saturday:

  • Clean out desk drawers
  • Clean out car
  • Pack up sewing

Sunday:

  • Bathroom – toiletries we don’t use all the time
  • Towels and linen

Monday: ?rest day (quick shift)
Sign the lease and get the keys

Tuesday:

  • Assess storage unit
  • Take a load over

Wednesday:

  • Pack up kitchen
  • Start sorting boxes in storage unit – make a clear way through to furniture
  • Take a load over

Thursday:

  • Finish unpacking storage unit – all but furniture
  • Take loads over
  • Pack up furniture with padding etc ready for transport
  • Dismantle desk

Friday:

  • Furniture moving day
  • Futon being delivered

 

If I can manage to drag myself out of bed early enough I might be able to take some things over in the mornings before work, but we’ll see.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in How To's and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How-To: Pack Up House and Home in a Week

  1. I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme.
    Did you create this website yourself or did you hire someone
    to do it for you? Plz reply as I’m looking to create my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. many thanks

  2. Fabulous, what a web site it is! This webpage
    presents valuable information to us, keep it up.

Leave a Reply

