Too Much Time On My Hands

5 days off and on the third day I find I’m sitting around the house doing nothing. If I cook any more food we will become balloons, my partner seems to have gained a few kilos since we moved, with the novelty of having my own kitchen we’ve eaten lots of pasta, and he’s developed a taste for sundaes.

20130519-150518.jpg

I have organised the house to my capacity at the moment, plus I’ve had to limit the drives to our storage unit due to fuel costs, I do need to take a trip to a charity bin with some of the things stored out there and some stuff to the tip.

I went through my sewing and found two projects I had been working on but realized I have misplaced my iron, so I will be in search of a new iron tomorrow. I did all my cleaning yesterday, tried out our new vacuum which works really well for a reasonably well priced machine. I’ve even done my laundry and the house is spotless, all that’s left are some things in the garage that need dumping, but my car still fits in, and they will have to wait until either the bin has been emptied or I go to the tip.

What else can I do? I’m not used to having spare time. There are things that need doing, just nothing I can do at the moment. I have 2 weeks holidays next month, so I’ll have to prepare some endeavors, get some sewing jobs going and organise my craft cupboard, it’s a built in wardrobe with a shelf up high and a rail for hanging, no drawers etc. So it looks like a trip to purchase some storage will be in order, I just need to plan out what kind of storage I need. Maybe a cubed low line book case would work.

I have promised my partner I will have a rest every third day from the gym, so two at the gym and one day rest at home, or I would’ve gone to the gym to pass some time. I was thrilled yesterday morning when I noticed my tummy seems to be getting flatter, it’s nice to know that gym time is having an effect. We’re in full swing of healthy meals at the moment, he’s on a pasta binge at the moment, but I’m managing my intake with some strategies.

I find it very hard when he wants to eat with me, knows exactly what he wants to eat and gets disappointed if I don’t have it with him. So I’ve developed a new strategy, I will bake me some veggies to go with a small serve of his pasta, or use his pasta sauce on my veggies (tonight I might use it to make a veggie bake). How do you balance your families “undesirable” meal choices to fit your healthy choices without upsetting? Especially when they can’t live without them…

Tomorrow I’m off to the gym early, then we’re going out for lunch and a movie or two (we have some free tickets to use).

What do you do with your spare time? I feel like I’m so used to high paced life that I find it hard to sit still, I have a few books to read but I haven’t been able to settle enough and clear my mind to read them.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

