Meal Planning: Preventing Waste

I like to plan ahead and have things organised, from to-do lists to meal plans and gym days, that way I find I have an increased chance of getting things done.

I would like to be more vigilant though. We waste a lot of food unfortunately. We have the best intentions and I figure if I stock the cupboards and fridge with healthy food we have no choice but to eat clean and healthy. The most unhealthy items in the house would have to be some cookies and chocolate ice cream. Lots of vegetables, fruit, crackers etc. I made vegetable bake last night and my partner made bolognese, so we have left overs too. That’s part of my downfall, I keep leftovers and forget to eat it, or buy lots of fresh food with plans to cook them and we change our minds at the last minute and food gets wasted, and expires.

So my question is; what is the best meal planning strategy? I like to plan a week in advance, but some of my food doesn’t last that long, and I don’t live close to a supermarket (25mins away – although there’s a convenience store nearby), the prices aren’t always convenient unfortunately

This week I’m trying a new plan of attack, no more than 2-3 meals in advance, that means about two meal plans of around 3 days each. I guess that will allow a variety too and plans to use excess.

Today was our day out together, we went to the movies, had a vegetarian crepe for lunch and BBQ chicken and salad wraps with mexican salsa for dinner.

Tuesday: is a gym day, so something easy – either chicken sandwiches or roast chicken and baked veggies for dinner and fruit/yoghurt and muesli for brunch

Wednesday: Afternoon shift – no work out today. Beef stroganoff for dinner, homemade salad for afternoon tea with egg and fruit for brunch

Thursday: afternoon shift and gym workout on the way to work – fruit/yoghurt and muesli for lunch, smoothie for afternoon tea/post workout and left over beef stroganoff for dinner.

Spare meal plan of satay chicken or pasta on hand just incase. On cold days reheat left overs for lunch.

Of course it may not go exactly to plan, but there’s something on hand. I like to have cereal or fruit for brunch, something light for afternoon tea at work and a planned hot meal for dinner. I’m trying to plan in protein snacks/smoothies for post workouts.

New strategies to plan this week:
Freeze meat until needed
Try to stick to the meal plan
Utilize left overs for lunches or take to work for heat and eat purposes
Don’t buy too much at once
Make a bulk smoothie for workouts.

When it comes to healthy eating we must be prepared. But not too prepared!

How do you prevent waste?

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Meal Planning and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

