Getting Myself Organised for Night Duty

I just wrote a big post but lost it accidentally due to an option on my iPad unfortunately. So I’ll re-write as best I can, but it never works as well the second time.

I have night duty this week, so I am planning meals and options for the week. As in a previous post my main meal will be after my sleep, in the evening/afternoon. Healthy snacks through the night and something high in protein for breakfast when I get home.

The hardest part is planning my gym workouts, I am thinking straight after my night duty, then home for a sleep. It will mean keeping my strength up for the night though. Tomorrow I will head to the gym about midday for my workout and hopefully tire myself out so I can have a nap before my first night shift.

We have created a habit of cooked breakfasts on mornings of my afternoon shift; bacon, scrambled eggs, onion, mushrooms, avocado and toast.

20130529-003253.jpg

This would be nice after my workout, but I might have a protein shake or some hard boiled eggs ready to go. I even found a high protein pancake recipe I’d like to try one morning. Just not sure I’ll have all the energy for cooking after a night duty and a work out. We’ll see.

This week I have acquired a Martha Stewart weekly planner, it’s adhesive so I stuck it to my fridge. I’ve made a plan of potential meals and workout days, plus listed my shifts for the week so my partner knows when I’m working.

20130529-003854.jpg

I made a big vegetable soup for my partner, so I know he has at least 3-4 meals in the fridge ready to go, they can be his lunch or dinner. We have plenty for him to snack on in between, I’m trying to encourage healthy options, so maybe if that’s all we have in the house he’ll have no choice.

20130529-004142.jpg

I did the shopping today, and armed my kitchen with all the things I’ll need to maintain my healthy diet during these nights coming up. Being organised is the key, I like to have something ready to go at the last minute, just in case.

This week I’m planning protein, vegetarian sausage rolls made of nuts, cheese, milk, herbs and bread crumbs, eggs for breakfast or protein shakes, and snacks of fruit, celery and carrot sticks with dip of almond spread or hummus.

What’s your plan this week?

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Meal Planning and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

