Getting the Structure Back

I have had a bad week. I had the best intensions with my night shifts, but I’ve struggled with my sleeping pattern. I copped out on my workout today, we over ate at dinner and now I can’t sleep and my tummy feels nasty. The worst part was laying in bed knowing I was doing nothing, I have been on Facebook looking at motivational images, and they work on me very well actually. To the point I got out of bed and did a few quick workout apps on my iPad. I’m waiting for a respectable hour to go to the gym, at least another four hours, but at the very least maybe I can wear myself out enough to have some more sleep.

The worst part is that my sleep rhythm is so far out, my partner and I aren’t sharing the same sleep times, so we’re not spending a great deal of time together, and when we do I fall asleep. Only two more nights to go, then I can get back into night sleeping.

I’m putting together our meal plan for the week so I know what to go shopping for.

Now I was doing some research earlier today about high protein meals to try and get me back into the swing of things, I’ve decided this week will be a mixture of fruit, yoghurt, and muesli for breakfasts this week, snacks of carrot sticks, celery sticks and dip or nuts. Dinners are made of chicken, fish, veggies, and quiche this week, and post workout smoothies. My partner would like to eat more red meat, but more on that another time. And I was hoping to get some bean and lentil recipes. That’s my new task for this week. I get sick of eating the same things all the time, and I’m looking for some new ideas to mix it up a bit, otherwise I’ll end up getting back into the pasta/Mexican routine I fought to get out of. We’re thinking about some curries too now we’re getting cooler weather.

I hope you’re all organised for the week ahead. I figure if I can get the shopping and meals sorted, and plan my workout days, the rest can take care of itself.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Health/Fitness, Meal Planning and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

