Regaining My Sleep

So another week has begun.  I had the public holiday off and I barely left the house, I spent most of it cleaning up the house after the scrambled week I had prior.  My sleeping is all over the place at the moment and I’m struggling to get a handle on it.  I’m finding I sleep early in the night for 4 hours, then wake up and can’t get back to sleep until sometime after 5am, and try to get out of bed by lunch time.  It’s currently 5am and I’m still awake and have been since midnight so I’m wondering if I should cut my losses, stay up and maybe I’ll be tired enough tonight to sleep through and get back to normal for my first day back at work for the week.  I’ve been struggling with this ever since my night duties.

Since I have nothing else to do this late in the evening I’ve decided to put my weekly plan together, meal plans, trips to the gym and laundry.  I like to stay on top of everything.  I feel like my day was wasted today, I spent it catching up on washing, cleaning the bathroom and mopping and vacuuming.  My fingers have finally almost healed too, since I sliced one with the peeler, and another with the blade from the blender while I was washing up, so thankfully I no longer have to rely on my partner to do the washing up.  Don’t get me wrong, I thought it was really sweet that he offered to wash up for me while I was injured, but we have very different ideas…  He is very thorough and may take a while, which isn’t that big a deal but I like to do the dishes straight away so I don’t have that job hanging over my head (I don’t like it so much) and I don’t like having a messy kitchen, it’s one thing I can’t stand.  Where as he can leave the dishes for a few days.

So now I have a clear head, the house is all clean.  Here is my weekly plan:

Slide2

 

My plan tomorrow is to cook soup for my afternoon shift (the following day), and clean out my car.  At the moment I don’t plan to go to the gym.  But, sometimes my eating choices dictate that more than my actual plan.  Although, if I can show some self control I’d prefer to do an ab workout at home and stay in.

I don’t know if I’ve hit a plateau, but my weight is remaining the same even though I have progressed a few levels on all machines, I’m burning up to 300 more calories per workout than I used to.  I just don’t understand.  I think I might need to up my ab workouts.  I really need to flatten my tummy, it’s my worst area at the moment, and I have been really slack and not doing weights at the gym, just cardio, while I try and do an ab and arm workout at home to save waiting for machines at the gym.  Or maybe I need to pick my times a little better.  I’m debating a yoga class tomorrow night…  I’ve never been to one and would like to have someone to go with, but I don’t really know anyone who goes to my gym so I’ll have to brave it alone.

Sometimes I think going to the gym will make me tired, but it usually just gives me more energy, unless I’m already exhausted.  The last session I had was a big struggle.  Probably for the best I take two days off instead of my usual one at a time.  Stick to some low impact stuff at home for tomorrow.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

