Pilates and Yoga?

So I’ve started pilates and yoga, as they have classes at the gym and I can attend at no extra expense.  I guess my question is what are benefits?  And, are they beneficial enough to add to my regular routine, maybe even replacing some of my cardio?

Normally my workout routine consists of 2 days in a row at the gym, then one to rest, and then two more at the gym.  Meaning I go 4-5 days a week.  This usually consists of 20mins on the cross trainer, 20mins on the exercise bike, and 20mins on the treadmill with intervals of running (2-3mins for every 5mins).  When I started I managed to do a total distance of 10kms and around 500 calories.  Now, about 2 months since I began, I am making around 17kms easily and 800+ calories in the same time, including climbing 2-3 levels on the cross trainer and bike.

On my days off I try to do a 10mins ab workout app on my ipad, and a leg and arm one too, equating to 30mins.  But, I was thinking of pulling out my Malibu pilates chair from the garage and trying that at home.

From my own research I understand that pilates is about strengthening and gaining muscle, while yoga is about relaxation and stretching.  Both low impact, which is good for my knees.  So I’m wondering if I should try and do a cardio before hand, or alternate cardio and yoga/pilates days?  If anyone reads this who has an opinion please feel free to leave me a comment, I’d love some input to try and get the most out of my workout days.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Health/Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pilates and Yoga?

  1. CultFit says:

    I often get asked this very same question about yoga and pilates. Both of these are tremendous tools to add to your fitness toolbox, although try not to confuse the true purpose and spirit of these programs. I would skip cardio before both, to fully experience the class. Pilates will be more physically taxing than you initially expect it to be. Yoga, in my humble opinion has little and or nothing to do with flexibility and outward appearance. Yoga is surrendering to your true spirit, your true self. Yoga will help you explore balance, limitations and humility. which will carry over quite nicely to other areas of your life.
    Whatever you do, when things get tough in class, because they will … Breathe and smile. 🙂

    • Thank you so much for that response. I didn’t know if I’d get one at all. I am so grateful for the input. I’m still not really sure which way to go so I’m trying a handful of ideas to try and get my body shape back. I have heard a lot of great things about pilates, but am unsure about yoga, which I tried and loved, but wasn’t sure about how much I’d get out of it.

      Again, thank you, and I will continue to try and make it to classes. After your advice I think I will definitely bring my chair inside and start those workouts I used to do. After losing weight, I just want to get my shape back. I’m managing to balance my weight now, I just want to get my flat tummy back if I can, and shape my arms and legs. hopefully for summer. But, also for my own self esteem.

  2. Selfhelp says:

    I blog quite often and I genuinely thank you for your information. Your article has truly peaked my interest. I am going to take a note of your blog and keep checking for new information about once per week. I opted in for your Feed as well.

Leave a Reply

