Get Back on the Horse!

I read about so many people beginning a journey, only to find it too hard to continue and quitting!  What is so hard about hope and dreams?  We only get what we work for, we finish school and our degrees, and acquire jobs on our own merit.  No one can do these things for us, we put in the hard work and we get out of it what we put into it.

It saddens me to see so many people accepting crumbs!  Crumbs from people they know, people they work with, the people in their relationships and from themselves.  We accept crumbs from people when we accept their excuses or lies and continue to accept over and over again.  What we accept becomes a standard.

We set standards for human interactions without even noticing it.  From something as simple as offering to take someone shopping or popping in to visit, and that person begins to expect it and before we know it we feel obliged to keep it up.  Sometimes you need to take a step back and think about yourself for a change.  We have so many cases of depression, and people who feel unfulfilled in their lives from giving out too much.  What if we all decided to take even as little as one day a week to do what we want, even just a few hours?

Start looking at who you are now, who you want to be, and don’t forget about where you came from.  It’s so hard to get caught up in the here and now, and forget how far you’ve come and feel stuck.

It’s time we all made some realistic goals, have a think about hopes and dreams…  We all have them, but what do we do to achieve them?

1. Think big – what do you want?

2. Make little goals that work towards that achievement – make a list that you can tick off and see progress

3. If you fall back: re-evaluate your current goals, make a plan for the rest of the week, pick yourself up and keep moving

Remember, whatever happens today doesn’t matter, what does matter is that you learn from it and use it as fuel for tomorrow.  I often post about failures from my goals, we’re only human, and we all make mistakes but we can all learn from our mistakes.

Today is roughly halfway through the week, already I have failed almost every day, but tonight I’m getting motivated.  Whenever I feel really guilty it motivates me to do better, and to be the person I know I can be.

My goals are common: I want to eat better, show some self-restraint with food I know I shouldn’t eat and motivate myself to work out and exercise even when I don’t feel like it because I know how good I feel afterwards.  It’s like having a shower in winter, I know I’ll be cold until the water warms up, but I don’t want to miss the feeling of the warm water and being clean afterwards.  I also want to do some self-education for work, I’m still learning and will learn everyday, but some of it will be self-motivated.

My plan this week is to stick to my meal plans: I’m making soup tomorrow for my partner and I to last 3 nights, and a quiche to alternate dinners and find a new way to get in my veggies.  I plan to do a great cardio workout and my home malibu pilates, yes I ate too much today at a moment of weakness, but I am willing to work for it.  I also plan to get some relaxation in too.

If you have trouble finding your motivation, try reading other peoples successes and inspirational images or movies.  There is nothing we can’t do, once we put our minds to it!

What will you do this week?

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Inspirational and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Get Back on the Horse!

  1. My partner and I stumbled over here different web address and thought
    I may as well check things out. I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to looking into your web page for a second time.

Leave a Reply

