The More We Earn The More We Spend – To Make Our House A Home

I have to start this post by saying I think I have moments of materialism!  I must admit I am an addict!  If you could only see my wish list.

Here I was tonight on facebook commenting on a minimalist page, I like their posts as I believe they are good in theory, and I had a bit of a discussion over one in particular…  But, I could never commit to it.  I have an addiction to buying clothes, sewing supplies and kitchenware.  I can’t help it, I just like to cook and sew.  I used to buy a lot of furniture, but my partner has managed to curb that part of me, and I see the value in having more space around our home and less clutter…  Having said that clutter can be disguised by organisation, which leads to more expense in the process of acquiring this level of masked clutter.

My current addiction is Tupperware!  I am looking to find some cheap tupperware, I don’t even mind if it’s second hand so long as it is in good condition.  However, what I’m finding on ebay is that most of what I want to buy is coming from Malaysia.  I have read a post saying a lot of it comes from countries offering low paid labour, which I can understand from Tupperware’s perspective, but I would assume they wouldn’t be selling it outside of Tupperware, especially since I can’t order items from the American site.  Does this mean it’s not genuine?  Or just sold from the manufacturer?  I would be willing to pay for it if it is the same quality, especially since buying it here from a demonstrator would be the same as if I bought it off ebay, only ebay is more convenient for me.  It’s the same product, made in the same place by the same people, in the same conditions, only at a different price.  I just don’t know how reliable it is to purchase from these buyers.  I haven’t had too much trouble buying on ebay in my time, but this is a substantial amount of money I can’t afford to lose.  So maybe I just save that little bit more for their trusted and quality customer service and attention to detail.  I must admit I’ve never had a problem with the Tupperware representatives.  My biggest dilemma is that I feel guilty and pressured into buying more, when I can only afford a few items at a time.  Don’t get me wrong, I could probably purchase everything in the catalogue given half a chance, but if I wait like I am now I might miss something as new colours come out and new items replace old styles.  This form of marketing works for them, and we all battle out for items on ebay, sometimes paying way more than the item is worth because either the item is missing from our collection or we don’t realise the true value and overpay.

I am looking for fridgesmart containers and modula mates to help organise my kitchen.  Currently my pantry looks a mess, no matter what I do I feel like I can’t maintain order.  I try to organise my shelves, but I have little space, and with lots of packets, different containers etc it looks so unorganised.  I think if I could just get some modula mates my cupboard would be more organised, labelled and easily accessible.  But, I can’t decide if I have enough faith to purchase from these sellers…  At the same time, if I went with Tupperware I would have to save for months to have a party and get all the items I’m after.

Part of my problem is that I’m too impatient and a completist.  I don’t like to wait, in the past I have borrowed and paid off things I couldn’t wait for.  I have a tupperware order to pay a consultant next week, and I know it’s going to cost me around $300+, and I won’t get much off my list for that either.  I can’t have a party at the moment, although it would be lovely.  Maybe the tax man will be kind to me this year, and I might get a nice refund!

How do these items catch us?  And, where will it end?  No matter what we get, we will always want more.  It’s like our incomes.  The more you make the more you spend, living a humble little life on a humble wage encourages us to appreciate what we have.  I like to take a step back from time to time and forget my wishes and imaginings of what I want to be and achieve  to just step back look at how far I’ve come and do today what I can to work towards tomorrow.

My partner and I are changing a few things, little changes at a time.  We’ve come from a lifestyle where we went out for dinners and brunches everyday and had nothing to show for it.  I have since developed a taste for organisation and a sense of accomplishment, I’m cooking at home more, looking for healthy alternatives and trying to curb our habits for the best.  We are finding date night to be an effective step in the right direction, although it goes against the idea of home cooked meals, they sometimes take me away from him as I spend a lot of time in the kitchen and maintaining the house.  We’re still in the process of making our house a home, for me the kitchen, laundry and bathroom are my areas (plus my craft room which I haven’t been spending as much time is as I’d planned), so I need to feel I have some control and management over.  Which is where my appliances and Tupperware comes in as it makes my time in there easier.  Where as he uses his computer a lot and his values are different to mine, but at the end of the day, we come together and what we have made together is our home!  Something that defines us!

I would like us to spends some more time outdoors, but I will have to work on that one.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The More We Earn The More We Spend – To Make Our House A Home

  1. Una says:

    Good respond in return of this query with genuine arguments
    and describing all about that.

Leave a Reply

