My Holiday Challenge: Week #1

I’ve decided to start some new habits…  Since staying up last night and waking up at lunch time I feel like I’m wasting all my “day time” on my days off.  I would like to get out more, as in outside, even just in my yard would be nice.

I found this link last night about strategies to get up earlier and be more on an early bird, which really couldn’t hurt me since I start work half the time at 7am and have to get up at least by 6am.  This means getting to bed early, and if I’m not tired maybe a hot chocolate and a book, which would also be a great idea since I have barely read anything lately.

My Holiday Challenge:

  • Get to bed before midnight – start aiming for 10:30pm
  • Prepare dinner before 7pm (I used to be strict with late night eating but it seems to have gone by the way-side lately)
  • Get up before 8am (to begin with – I think it’s more important to do things in increments, small changes because if you take away everything at once it seems too hard and you give up)
  • Plan the day when I get up and get going as soon as I can
  • Try to get outside if possible (this one isn’t a priority for the moment – I figure as I get better this will become easier, I would really like to get to a lookout nearby during my holidays)
  • Get to the gym, just pack everything up the night before while I’m motivated, in the morning get dressed and leave the house before I’ve had a chance to think about it

I got some positive feedback today when my partner said he noticed a few changes about my body, it gave me the motivation to get up and get moving.  Of course it made me feel good, but it doesn’t mean I should stop, it means I’m doing the right thing, especially at a time where it was getting harder, I was starting to get a little bored with my regular workout.  I still think I’ll go ahead with the new pilates and yoga in my workout, and obviously doing the extra work at home is helping, but I won’t be substituting the cardio.  I think I’ll try and balance everything.

Today is “again”, my new start…  I have been bad this past week, giving in to my partners requests for dinner, and ditching some workouts to spend time with him.  Not that I’m about to ditch time with him, but I am hoping that by getting up early I can get to the gym, and pick up any groceries we need for the day, meaning more time together at the end of the day.

So, my plan for the rest of this week is as follows:

  • Thursday (today): cardio at the gym, pilates at home, 10min abs and 50 squats
  • Friday: 10min abs and 50 squats at home followed by yoga at the gym
  • Saturday: I will have to be up and motivated early for 9:15am yoga
  • Sunday: Up early and off to the gym for cardio, and home for pilates if I’m not too sore from yoga

Diet Plan:

  • Salad for lunch
  • I’m cooking soup tonight to last 3 nights – that leaves my a quick option on nights where I can’t be bothered (I have even considered something like this for our “date nights”, I could prepare something in a disposable package and heat and eat, it would make for a healthier option)
  • Sticking to my calorie intake and including more protein
  • Protein shakes for after workouts (I always make these from whatever’s in the fridge; today I made them from kiwi fruit, strawberries, peanut butter, yoghurt, cottage cheese, almond milk and banana)
  • Water to drink, coconut water after workouts, and a sugar free hot chocolate in the evening or tea if necessary
  • As much protein as I can manage

What do you do when you’ve taken a few steps backwards?  My strategy is to regain control and make a plan.  I haven’t scheduled days off so at least if for some reason I can’t make it or I’m too sore, I will have made 3/4 days.  I like planning higher, if I achieve it then that’s awesome, if not I have still made an achievement.  Increasing our expectations of ourselves mean that we get more out of ourselves, makes us push ourselves harder.  You never know what you’re capable of doing until you’ve tried.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Health/Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

