Appreciating the Little Things

When it rains it pours!

Since we moved nothing seems to have gone smoothly.  I constantly seem to be fighting an uphill battle.  To begin with we had trouble getting our home phone and internet on, then it was the hot water system (unfortunately it had to be completely replaced – and I was planning my trips to the gym just for a nice hot shower), and yesterday I finally discovered what was wrong with our washing machine.

To begin with, about a week ago our washing machine was leaving a dirty kind of smear on the washing…  First I noticed it on a white shirt I’d washing on it’s own, I fobbed it off thinking it was a once off.  Then I started noticing it in small instances throughout loads, on some items and not others.  Last night I had finally had enough when I discovered it all over my work shirts, even worse after I’d bought a product to run through the machine to clean it, when that hadn’t worked I hopped online to do some research and settled with bicarb soda and vinegar.  Well, nothing worked, then when a darker more pronounced stain came out and my partner also had a good look we discovered it was oil…  More research later found that this meant the death of our machine.  Now I shouldn’t be too upset, after all it was given to us, but it couldn’t have come at a worse time.

So off we went today, and I’ve purchased a new machine to be delivered on Monday.  The best part is they are taking away my old machine.  I’m just glad I’ll be able to wash with no worries about what the clothes might come out looking like.  It’s funny how these situation make us appreciate the little things.  And now how much debt I’m currently in makes me appreciate home cooked dinners and overcast days at home.

The clouds are just starting to come over, I’m making my partner a vegetable soup to have for dinner for the next 3 days, or at least to last 3 days even if not consecutive, and all I want is to stay home.  I don’t want to go to the gym, but I have a dvd due today, and I have to head out.  Maybe I can be rewarded with the next two days at home, just me, the computer, my books and my pilates chair…  All I need.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

