Can Free Time Be Unproductive?

My “home days” have been rather unproductive…  I don’t know what I really wanted to get from them to be honest.  I have had plans to do some sewing, reading and just veg around the house.  I guess I have done that to some degree, I finished a quilt front that I have been meaning to finish, and did a little reading.  I even resurrected the malibu pilates chair and have been doing that second daily, in fact I’ve just finished a workout on it.   I need to get back to the gym though I think.  There’s nothing like good old fashioned running, I don’t think the “cardio” does any justice on that workout dvd.  I get a better cardio session from my bootcamp dvds.

My problem is I don’t know what to do with my spare time, and this is nothing new, I’ve had this issue for as long as I can remember.  So instead of wasting my final days off, I’ve decided to make some plans.  I plan to get my keyboard out, and some sheet music and play, I haven’t done that in over a year, I would love to get lessons some time.  And, the other is a dinner trial, I’ve promised to make my partners mum her favourite dishes as a birthday lunch in just under 2 weeks time.  Dishes I’ve never made before, so I better start looking for some recipes.  I do love cooking, and I often ask my partner if he’d like me to make a new snack or dessert when I’m bored, which I did the other night (hence the chocolate cake).  But, then I get disappointed I spent most of my day in the kitchen.

I don’t really know what I want to get out of “my time”.  I know it should be something relaxing, but I think I have trouble shutting down, and I spend too much time on facebook, checking it all the time and not actually engaging in anything substantial.

So, I’ve decided to do what I always do…  Make a plan for this week, preparing for the weekend so there’s no work to do to get in the way.  I have to navigate around the plans I’ve already made though, and make a list of the things I would like to do on my weekend, and then when it comes, all I have to do is pick one.  Not sit around the house thinking about what I should do and ultimately doing nothing.

What do you do with your spare time?

If you got a chance to relax and wind down – is it really that unproductive?

I’m not sure, I would like to take at least one day each week for me, and practice just being alone and appreciating my own space, doing something I want to do – not just because I have to.  I have a craft room but I never use it, I drag everything to the dining room, which seemingly defeats the purpose.  So my goal for myself is to do something I enjoy each week.

 

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

