New Washing Machine – New Schedule

New washing machine – new schedule!

Well as I have mentioned our washing machine decided to pack it in!  So this meant a new purchase.  I have always had top loaders but have opted for a front loader since I did some research on the pros and cons.

Now one of the cons as I am dealing with trying to catch up on my washing, is the wash cycle times.  They are much longer than my old machine.  Although my old machine was very old, it made it through a cycle in 35-40mins, I am now contending with 1hr 30mins – 2hrs 30mins, depending on how much I’d loaded in.  The other restriction I now have is the capacity.  I don’t know what the capacity of our old machine was, but it was significantly more than the one we have now.  I don’t know if I’m under-filling the new machine, but I was thinking today if our washing machine is a 7kg, and our dryer is a 5kg, does that mean I should load the washing machine with more than I can fit in the dryer?

I am having a dilema with how much to load into the machine…  I read on a forum that if I can fit a fist above the clothes once they’re loaded in without my hand touching either the clothes or the top of the barrel then it’s not too much, but my partner thinks I should putt a little less than that.  So what is the rule?

My laundry routine is going to have to change now I have such a long cycle time.  I’ll have to make sure I do a load regularly, and plan them.  I get the feeling the delayed start will be used, when I need to leave the house early, but any kind of laundry catch up of more than one load would take up my day.

I don’t want to give the wrong impression, I LOVE my new machine, I love the new options we now have and my partner loves the idea of a 15min cycle since he always wants to wash an outfit the morning we’re going out.  It’s so awesome to have my clothes all coming out clean, since my last one started leaking oil, and it’s very quiet in comparison.

It just mean one more reason to be organised!

Oh and speaking of organised I should be getting my tupperware order tomorrow…  That means I can be even more organised.  Can’t wait!

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Getting Organised and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

