Happy “New” Year

Since today (i began writing this last night) is the beginning of a new year, the financial year it’s time to recap and make adjustments to our goals I think. Today marks many things, the beginning of a “new year”, my first day back from holidays and new beginnings.

It doesn’t matter what you did today, what you did yesterday or at any other moment in your past. What matters is the present and what we choose to do with our future.

I’m starting fresh (yet again), but I think every time we make goals, every time we don’t meet our expectations we learn something. We learn how to succeed a little better next time.

I had a big fail over the holidays, I ate too much when I got bored (not necessarily bad things, but I remember feeling over full a fair bit, especially when I was baking), and I hardly did any cardio which makes me feel guilty.

But… It’s not what we’ve done in our past, however I like to acknowledge it, feel the guilt and learn from my mistakes, and remember what it was like and how it made me feel.

Now we’re moving on. Make new plans, new goals and small stepping stones, little changes are more effective than big ones.

On my day one of new beginnings I went to the gym for cardio and commenced the 4 week push up challenge, starting with 25 today. At the moment I can’t do them all at once, but I am hoping to work on that.

20130702-171806.jpg

New plans:

  • Cardio at least 3 days a week (any days, consecutive or not, most probably work days since I pass the gym anyways)
  • Exercise of some sort 5-6 days a week
  • Home made lunches for work and more veggies at dinner

I think that will do for now, it’s individual, and it’s achievable.

And on that note it’s almost off to the gym for cardio and yoga, my week is panning out well, day two of cardio, and fruit and soups at work for lunch.

How’s your “new years” plans?

Even though its half way through the year, I think this is the perfect time to “adjust” our plans according to our current accomplishments. If you’re expectations are too high now is the time to refine them. Look back at what you’ve achieved and look forward to your future achievements. Use you’re past accomplishments to fuel your new plans, as inspiration, and believe you can, because you did!

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Health/Fitness, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

