Time Management: Catching Up At the End of the Week

Tomorrow is my first day off since having family come and visit.  We had a house inspection the day they left, so my house was all clean and tidy, but over the week I have worked everyday and now I feel like I have to get back on top of it.  I only have two days off though, so I feel like I have to make the most of it.  Thankfully today was a morning shift so I can get some done tonight.

We decided to make the most of our first night together this week, most nights after work I feel tired and exhausted, or I’m trying to fit in a workout at the gym on the way home meaning I don’t really feel like doing much by the time I get home.  So I’ve decided to approach this from a totally different angle, although it does mean ditching my workout, or maybe doing a pilates one at home on the chair.

Since we both felt like something different for dinner we’ve opted for a roast, so I went shopping on my way home to get everything.  I’ve got the roast and the veggies in the oven as we speak, and I’ve prepared a potato bake which is also in the oven, I’ve got the washing machine on and my partner and I fold all the clean washing (which is unlike me to build up, but it just goes to show what kind of week I’ve had).

So while dinner is cooking in the oven, and will take a long long time, I’ve decided to catch up on my housework/life and make the most of this time.  By tidying up, cleaning the kitchen, tidying the bathroom, maybe clean down the sink and bath and if I get time maybe I can even vacuum.

I know that all sounds ambitious, but think of the exercise in the process!  Housework also burns calories, and it means tomorrow when I wake up I can make the most of my day, continue catching up on laundry if I don’t have time tonight to get through it all, mop the floor and take care of the bathroom (shower mostly).  If I get up early I’ll get so much out of my day, I can even get to the gym and still have plenty of time for what I need for me.

As tonight is my “Friday night” I think this is a great way to harness the weekend and get the most out of it.  It’s better than spending my whole weekend at home trying to catch up on the week.  The best part is my first day back is an afternoon, so I can even do my meal plan prep that morning and be all ready for the working week ahead.

How do you catch up?  Do you spend all weekend catching up and have no time left for yourself, or do you have a similar strategy?

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Getting Organised and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

