At-Home Workouts – For When You Can’t Get To The Gym

I’ve decided since starting my challenges again it’s time to get everything sorted!  A house plan, exercise plan, meal plan and me time plan.

Day one:
Today I got my storage stuff organised, most of it is gone, just got to get to the tip and a fair amount will be given to charity.  I have food sorted for work tomorrow and a cooking schedule for the following day, left overs for afternoon shift…

Todays exercise includes skipping the gym due to time restraints, and opting for;

  • 25 pushups (push up challenge)
  • 50 squats (squat challenge)
  • 15 sit ups, 5 crunches, 5 leg raises and plank for as long as I can (ab challenge – it states a 10 second plank, but I’m pushing harder and know I can do more than that)
  • 45 mins malibu pilates

I’m thinking about re-introducing Billy’s bootcamp into my workouts at home.

What do you do when you can’t get time for a full on workout?  Or you can’t get to the gym?  This is what I’m using the challenges for, I figure some strength training in the living room is better than nothing if I can’t get to the gym.

Try looking up short workouts on youtube, a combination of pushups, star jumps, crunches and squats should give you a good 10-15min workout, and of course there are a few apps out there you can use on your smart phone or tablet.

I figure even if you have 5mins you can fit in something.  It’s not ideally the workout we should rely on, but we get into such hectic routines, we have to fit in what we can where we can.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Health/Fitness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

