How-To: Organise the Week Evenly

If you find housework boring and/or daunting try breaking it up a little.

Make a plan that’s manageable and bearable, make a monthly plan which includes all the things that don’t need to be done from week to week, and another weekly plan which includes all the weekly things but also includes a break down of the monthly things.

Monthly:

  • Clean the oven
  • Clean out the fridge
  • Tidy kitchen cupboards
  • Clean the front of cupboard doors
  • Tidy the wardrobe and linen cupboard

Weekly:

  • Vacuum
  • Laundry
  • Folding
  • Lawn
  • Gardening
  • Banking/Budget
  • Shopping
  • Meal planning
  • Exercise routine

 

If you’re like me you’ll make mental lists in your head all the time.  Make this into something tangible.  Recruit people in your household to help with little tasks like washing up and packing away the laundry, everyone can be responsible for their own belongings and mess.  In my household I do the cooking, cleaning, washing up, laundry, clean the bathroom, vacuum and mop.  While my partner is responsible for taking out the garbage, mowing the yard, and occasionally some shopping.  I should mention he usually washes his own clothes because he’s fussy about the cycle and what gets washed together.

Here’s how I try to break things down to make the week more manageable while working:

Sunday: Plan out the week – meal plans, do the grocery shopping, do the meal prep for left overs for my afternoon shifts (something to freeze), make a plan for exercise for the week.  Vacuum and mop – this is important to me so I can start the week with a clean house, and finally pack any clean laundry away and of course make sure I get through all the loads of washing from the previous week.

Never take last weeks left overs into the new week!

Monday: Laundry (eg; towels) do a load before bed, exercise (go to the gym or do a pilates workout at home with some strength challenge training)

Tueday: Hang out laundry first thing in the morning.  Get to the gym/workout at home.  Laundry – gym clothes load (I tend to plan gym days two in a row so I can wash two gym outfits and be ready for the next two in a row)

Wednesday: Hang out laundry in morning.  Vacuum, tidy up.

Thursday: Clean bathroom, Laundry load of everyday clothes and work uniform

Friday: Date night – get to the gym/pilates at home and no fuss dinner (no prep and no washing up – left overs if need be)

Saturday: Rest!

Spread your monthly duties out between 4 weeks.  Make the first week of the month oven  week, the second week, to tidy kitchen cupboards etc.

Make sure you always plan some alone time, something you can relax with…  If that’s going for a walk, or reading, or a craft activity make sure you do it at least once a week.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in How To's and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

