This Week’s Challenge: Good Sleep Hygeine

It’s time to curb the late nights and late sleep ins to follow. I work shift work and it’s so hard to change my sleeping pattern. I’ve decided it’s time to change…

This week’s challenge:

Get to bed early (before 11pm) or straight to bed after afternoon shift, and out of bed around 8am. That should be more than enough sleep.

I’m sick of feeling like I’ve wasted the day, I could’ve been out of bed early, prepared meals and been well into a workout by 10-11am, the times I seem to be dragging myself out of bed on my days off and when I have afternoon shifts. Bad habits are hard to break, and make early morning starts at work hard to manage.

What do you think? Do you think I am wasting my day by sleeping in so long?

I want to regain my sleep, and I know I can do it with will power!

I have heard all the excuses under the sun. “I can’t get to sleep”, “I’m just not tired when I go to bed”.

Do you have good bed hygiene? – What is that?

Good bed hygiene is something simple you can try to see if it will curb your sleeping troubles.

1. Only use your bed for intimacy and sleeping

2. Don’t read in bed, use your computer, phone or tablet

3. Don’t watch tv/dvds in bed (NO TV)

4. Go to bed when you feel tired – read a book in the living room and have a warm glass of chocolate milk to help make you tired

5. Start a routine: Brush your teeth, read a book and head to bed

Routine makes your body understand what’s happening, when you prompt it for bed it will respond. Try essential oils and music, anything that helps you relax!

Tomorrow I have an appointment 30mins from my house at 9:30am, so that’s a perfect start to my new challenge for next week, and it means I can get a start early.

Routine routine routine!

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Getting Organised and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

