Meal Planning: Keep a diary/Repertoire

Organising my meals at home can be a little predictable sometimes, it seems we have the same things over and over. So, while shopping at officeworks the other day I discovered a meal planner book. I thought this would be perfect, this will give me a chance to plan our meals ahead, it has a section to add recipes, it has a section for wine (not that I drink it often enough to want to record details), and it has shopping lists at the back.

20130722-020021.jpg

20130722-020234.jpg

This has sparked an idea with me, it’s time to make a list of healthy dinner options, some simple recipes and healthy sides. My partner isn’t into eating vegetables so I was thinking of doing some research into interesting ways to serve vegetables. Plus, I’m getting sick of making the same things all the time, and as I live a mostly vegetarian lifestyle, I would like to find some new vegetarian dishes.

20130722-020320.jpg

My goal this week is to make a list of our regular dinner recipes, and research some new ones. I think to help the 28 day challenge I need to inspire my cooking side, usually I make a dessert when I’m inspired, but it’s time to change the focus.

It’s time to make a list of breakfast, snack, lunch and dinner recipes. Some people laminate them and stick them to the fridge with magnets, I just want a list to choose from, if you have kids get them involved and this way you can make something they’ll like for dinner. The trick is finding things to get veggies into. We have a lot of soup, risotto and potato/pasta bake. All great ways to eat veggies, but we eat them so often. At the moment I’m having salads and soup, or salad and risotto at work, and mixing it up at home for dinner.

20130722-020129.jpg

This week if you change only one thing, make it what you fuel your body with. Make choices for nutrition; super foods, vegetables, fruit, berries and eggs. Lots of nutrients and protein.

The first thing you can do for your body is feed it right, control the portion secondly, and incorporate strength and cardio training.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Meal Planning and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

