Getting My Sewing Room Organised

I have to start with a sorry, I haven’t posted much lately, but I’ve had a lot on my plate both at work and at home.

Since I currently am in the middle of my three days off I decided to catch up on some housework. So today was sorting out my sewing room, and I had to pack away my books (from moving) without a bookcase, since I gave mine away the last time we moved. That leaves me a narrow wardrobe for my books, files and sewing. The dilemma is I have quite a few books, and I don’t think I have them all here, there still seems to be some missing.

This is my before photo

20130727-230252.jpg

And my cupboard

20130727-230322.jpg

20130727-230333.jpg

I have made a fair amount of ground, I can now see my floor again and the cupboard is fairly full, and not looking too tired so I’m seeking a storage idea to get my sewing room organised. Here’s the after photo:

20130727-230452.jpg

20130727-230501.jpg

There are a few ideas I have, but you have to remember I live in a pretty small house at the moment and my sewing room is pretty small so I don’t want too much furniture to clutter it up.

Now my ideas are:
1. A cubed bookcase to store my books along the bottom and sewing in higher cubes, or use boxes in the cubes to sort things – I would purchase one small enough to fit in the cupboard to maximize space.

2. My next idea is to have wardrobe sorters, just for my sewing stuff, but it wouldn’t be strong enough for books

So far I’ve made do with what I have since I don’t have the money at the moment to purchase anything. But I’m looking for ideas to try and maximize my cupboard space. Ultimately I’d love a bookcase, but that’s not practical for the moment.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Getting Organised and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

