Prioritising: Can-do vs Want-to

It’s so easy to get distracted in a materialistic world…  My partner and I try our best not to get bogged down with possessions, but I think I’m the weakest, in some respects.  And, I think it’s hard when you’re a completist.  I don’t do things by halves, and when I have something on my mind I find it hard to break from it.

I am having a financial struggle at the moment.  I have a few big potential expenses on the horizon…  One I will have to be organised for, and the other is just a possibility, I just hate having something like this looming over me.  In the meantime I have been shopping online, well “window shopping”.  I haven’t actually purchased anything but I have been back on my tupperware seek, and I am lusting after a thermomix.  We just don’t have the finances for this at the moment – but I would LOVE to own one.

So I am refocusing my attention before I get depressed.  I know this is a first world issue, but I have a very big weakness for kitchenware.  Heaven forbid I ever go into a kitchenware shop alone with access to my account.  I have a wish list currently of things I would love to have, but currently I am making do.  I was lucky enough to get a mystery pack at Christmas which happened to have a few things I wanted.  But, since I seem to be getting more adventurous there are a few items I am finding I need, which is making my self control stretch to it’s limits…  Consequently I have spent a lot of time on ebay trying to scout out discounts, which I probably shouldn’t be purchasing either.

I think it’s time for a new focus…  My diet and exercise…  I need to get my self control back in that respect…  I used to be so good, but lately I’ve been very slack, no motivation, but the wonderful weather we’ve had lately is starting to move my mood.  I actually got out in the sunshine today, and took the chance to relax, by doing nothing this afternoon.  My plans for this evening include a baked custard tart (which I’ve never made before), and cooking up some soup to get us through meals while I’m on afternoon shift for the next few days.  I like having something ready.  And, of course getting into the exercise routine again.  I haven’t done anything today, and I didn’t do anything yesterday, last night I spent a few hours in the kitchen making dinner and cupcakes.

Time to put all the dreams in the background for now, and focus on the present.  Lets do what we can today, and leave the future in the distance, where it belongs for now, while there’s nothing we can do about it.

Exercise and diet should always be at the top of the list…  After all, what do we have if we don’t have our health???  Not to mention our sanity.  So catch up with family and friends regularly, it will help to keep you sane.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

