How Do You Snack Right?

So it’s Sunday night.  I have worked through the weekend and have the next two days off, so tonight is the night I plan for the week ahead.  I did some shopping today on my way home, my meal plans are all in order, and we even have most of what we need for the week.  I am just planning what to do with my days off.

I want to find some new recipes this week, mostly some healthy snack foods, maybe some healthy dips and I can save how much I spend on them.  I’ve found a really nice pumpkin one at the supermarket and I would love to try one of my own, I love taking carrots and celery to work with dip for a healthy snack, and what better snack idea than if I can have something healthy to dip it into.  I’m also looking for a nice hommus recipe, I tried it once before but I think I added too much lemon.

I always advise people who ask about my weight loss to make small changes…  If I was to look back over the last few weeks of my “challenge” (that seems to have fallen away), I can see I have made a few small changes over the days.  My last week wasn’t too bad, we had planned meals for dinner, date night for just one night, I even cooked a soup in bulk and took that to work for my lunches and dinners, and made it to the gym (and where my workouts fell short I made up for it at home).  My big downfall was snacks, other than fruit which is a sugar trap how do you choose a healthy snack?

I picked up some thin rice cakes from the supermarket today, thinking that would be a healthy snack idea, but my partner has informed me they have a high GI.  I think this area is my biggest problem, I need to find a healthy substitute to munch on before cooking dinner, or something I can have on my way home from work.  Often biscuits find their way, or protein bars…  I’m thinking it might be time for homemade muesli bars, maybe a pre-cooked hard boiled egg.  Is there any such thing as healthy biscuits?  Maybe oatmeal without butter…

I’m finding the exercise helping, and it’s great I have found my motivation again, but I think it’s time to adjust what I’m fueling my body with.

My first place to look is low GI, low sugar and low fat.  Remembering a snack is a small portion, and just something to keep me going between meals.  I’m thinking high protein, and full of nutrients.

Keep an eye on the blog for my plans this week if you think you have the same struggles.  And, if you’re interested check out my facebook page My Housewife Life.  I often update there on the go!

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Meal Planning and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

