Managing my Knee Pain and Kicking the Plateau

This is my Friday night… Funnily enough, it’s actually on a Friday this week, meaning I have the weekend off.

At the end of my working week (over my weekend), I like to reflect on my week this far, how my goals are panning out. This last week I’m happy with my commitment:
3 cardio days
healthy eating
smaller portions
Pilates and yoga

But, it’s about time for me to make some cardio changes. I’m noticing my knees hurting more, so it looks like the running on the treadmill might be out. So at the gym I have two choices for my hr sessions.

1. I could drop the treadmill and increase my time on the cross trainer and exercise bike
2. I could keep the treadmill and change it to a brisk walk

So my question is how do we make changes to our workouts to adapt our individual needs? Do I ditch the treadmill or see the doctor for alternative treatment so I can continue my workouts? I starting researching this, and as it seems I can strengthen my knees with some simple
exercises done correctly. This includes squats, complemented with diet, fish oil, and massage.

This weeks plan will be to get started on strengthening my knees, and starting low impact cardio. Keep the cross trainer and exercise bike routine, and start a brisk walk on the treadmill. Continue yoga and Pilates to strengthen legs. I wonder if there’s a pose to help the knees.

How is your plan coming along?

I’m trying to lose my last 8kilos, it’s been a hard road lately, and I need to look at a change. I seem to have hit a plateau. So I need to find a way to kick start myself. Do I need to try something like the 5:2 diet? Take on a liquid/detox type diet for a week to flatten my belly, decrease my calories? Plus, I’m struggling with my ab workout. I don’t get that burn the next day that I can get from working upper and lower areas. But, I really need to strengthen my abs and lose more belly fat.

Process of elimination.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Health/Fitness, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

