Lacking Motivation – Even To Get Out of Bed

I knew something was up!  I finally hopped on the scales at work today.  I’ve GAINED a kg.  I felt bloated and just generally a little rounder than usual, my work pants were a little more snug than usual and I didn’t eat all that well on my days off.

Today I was exhausted from work so I ditched netball, yesterday I ditched the gym due to time restraints, or is that just an excuse?  I can’t get myself out of bed earlier than 10am on my days off, and yesterday (although that was an afternoon shift), 10am was hard!

I’m not sure what’s wrong with me, but I seem to have no motivation.  Plus, now my knees are playing up and I’m debating how much I should push them.  So I’m thinking I’ll give the cross trainer a go tomorrow, and maybe see how I go on the exercise bike (since I have time to kill, there’s an in-service at work at 6pm and I finish at 3:30 so I need to find something to do).  However, part of me is debating whether I should be just considering my yoga and pilates for the moment until I can get into see my doctor for some advice.

It’s so hard to be motivated when I’m not really even sure if I should be pushing myself, but I feel like I need the extra cardio to get this weight off that I’ve gained over the last few days.

Tonight I got in and made some soup for my new eating idea for the next few days.  Mostly liquid…  That’s it.  I plan to make smoothies and soups to get me through for a few days.  So currently I have a fruit smoothie (strawberries, half a banana, a kiwi fruit, a spoon of peanut butter, cacao powder and some almond milk), and a salad (baby spinach, tomato, mushrooms, cheese, jalapenos, capsicum, corn and kidney beans – I don’t really use a salad dressing but rather mix some wholegrain mustard with olive oil), and tomorrow night for dinner will be my pumpkin soup (merely pumpkin, onion, vegetable stock, curry powder and cumin).  In case I get hungry with my workout planned for tomorrow I have cut up some celery and carrot sticks and some almond spread for dip.

But, definitely need to get some exercise motivation back.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lacking Motivation – Even To Get Out of Bed

  1. kissesfromhome says:

    Those liquid intake sounds like a good diet plan. Just dont forget to have a bite of cracker or bread before drinking fruithies. It helps avoid the acidity that you can get from the diet. I had this before and it worked! Plus, i had my favorite old jeans hanged always at the back of my bedroom door. It kept me motivated to get back on my size. 🙂 you go girl!

    • Thank you for the ideas. I hadn’t considered them. The jeans sounds like a good idea too.

      I am just having so much trouble with the last 8 kilos. It’s so frustrating. I’ve hit a plateau for about 10 months.

Leave a Reply

