How To: Set and Achieve Our Own Goals

So they say we have greater results when exercising/dieting with others.  What makes you believe that idea?  Well my theory is the competitive edge, and we don’t want to be seen to fail to a peer…  Rivalry!  And they can help us push harder than we thought we could.  I also find that I push harder at the gym if there’s someone next to me.

However I have another angle.  If you were part of a group, doing a weight-loss challenge what do you think would make you lose weight the most?

Being accountable!

Imagine, if we had to log what we’d eaten and done each day for someone else to scrutinise, how much more successful would your efforts be?

Sometimes when I look back over what I’ve eaten for the day I feel ashamed, that’s what motivates me to go to the gym.  But, my partner worries when I burn off more than I’ve eaten for the day.  However, isn’t that the point of weight-loss?  To achieve a calorie deficit?

In my quest to lose these last 8kgs what can I do?  My “peers”, either don’t have a problem with their weight, or aren’t motivated to do anything about it, or had some kind of surgery.

So it looks alot like it’s just me.  After all that’s how I lost the majority of it, and I was thinking an incentive should come at the finish line.

Now I have a goal for a thermomix, that’s a pretty hefty expense (especially when I can’t afford one right now, and just as I seem to be getting ahead something comes along and gets in my way).

So my plan…

  • Yoga and pilates 3-4 times a week (that leaves room for every second day if necessary)
  • Healthy eating – including snacks
  • Accountability – food/exercise diary or blog postings
  • Pre-prepared meals for work – no excuses for buying on the go (which I don’t really do anymore anyways)
  • Watch the snacks in the tea room at work
  • Drink more water

I realise there’s no cardio in there, but I have had a bad time these last few days with my knees.  They are hurting at work, which isn’t easy when I have to be on my feet all day long.  So I’ve decided to rest them and do some exercise at home on my pilates chair, I bought a stability ball and I’ve been using some yoga poses (which seem to be helping my back which is awesome).

So having said all this I’m thinking it’s time to start a new challenge (my last one died – and was unable to be revived).

Next week begins the 2 week accountability challenge – feel free to join in.  It’s simple set yourself some goals, even just a few small changes like avoiding sugar, or snack substitutions or incorporating a walk into your routine…  It can be that simple.

I’ll give you an example from my day:

  • Fruit smoothie – Morning tea
  • Homemade salad and carrot sticks with almond spread – lunch
  • Thin rice crackers with almond spread – afternoon tea after work

Plan for this evening:

  • Satay Chicken – Dinner
  • Exercise:  Pilates and yoga at home

Who’s with me?!

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Health/Fitness, How To's and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

