A Little Bit of Perspective

I had an interesting conversation today with my partner about life in general, and what we have to show for it as it draws to an end.   If we have no family and friends, what do possessions and work bring to our need for importance?  What is our legacy?  Where do people go to find their “meaning”?

Why do the wrong people sometimes seem to reap the biggest rewards in life?  Why does it seem that those who fight and earn what they have seem to have the least to show for it but still seem to be happy and continue to be motivated?

This is not a poor me moment, but more of an observation of others around me at the moment.  I see so many people who struggle in one way or another, they just don’t seem to get ahead, but rather seem to barely keep their heads above water (sometimes due to their own poor choices more than anything).  I don’t know that I fit into either of these categories, but rather somewhere in the middle.  I’ve always believed that I’ve managed to get through and always managed to have just what I need at the right time.  You might attribute that to religious beliefs, karma, coincidence or simply by chance.

But, I guess what I’m wondering is why life can be so unfair to some, and yet they come bounding back and take the attitude that life is a blessing despite all their unfortunate experiences, while others who even have money or stability end up drowning in a wave of depression…  There must be a way to share this hope with those who need it.

This does seem like a sad and depressing post, but it’s not.  In my saddest moments I actually find inspiration in seeing people who have been beaten in every way imaginable, and who get back up and continue anyway.

Sometimes I wish there was a diplomatic way to stop people sinking in their own self-pity and see what I see around me…  People making the most of a bad situation, people who don’t rely on someone else to get them out of trouble, people who stand on their own two feet and do what they can to move forward.  It’s so easy to feel the full brunt of what life dishes us, and complain to those around us, wishing for an easy way out, when the true answer is to count your blessings, pull up your big girl (or boy) pants and keep walking.  One step after another.  That’s all it takes.

I should mention, today was such a beautiful day, the beginning of spring, new hope!  It’s nice to know that there are always opportunities, and life will always provide for us, in one way or another (depending on your beliefs).  When one door closes another opens.  Don’t see your misfortune as a negative, but look forward to the positive that is sure to follow.  And, ensure you take full advantage of life’s opportunities, because sometimes there’s no one there to fight for you, to pick up your pieces.  Sometimes you have to pick up the pieces you have left, and go search for the rest to see the big picture.

Most importantly, don’t question your positives…  Enjoy them for what they are, a gift from life.  For without life we have no fortune, no opportunities and no gifts.

Make sure you express the importance of people around you, ensure you make them feel appreciated and take the time out to spend some time with your friends and family.  Because, at the end what do we have?  Memories, family, and friends.  Don’t take any of those for granted.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

