Spring-tember Spring Cleaning Kit

As promised the guide/suggestion if you want to join me in my spring cleaning this month.  I currently only live in a small house so I don’t have all that much to do, but since our organisational skills will all vary you may have a much larger house than me, many more people in your family and still need to do way less than me.

So, what you will need for this is a cleaning kit!  I recommend home made if you can, and depending on what you want to get out of this will depend on what you have in your spring cleaning kit.  If you just want to de-clutter you won’t need much at all, but if you want to get your house ready from top to bottom you might like more.  I’ll cover everything from de-cluttering, re-organising to cleaning the toilet bowl…

Your Spring-tember Spring Cleaning Kit:
Lets start with the basics for de-cluttering

  • Baskets/buckets (for sorting out things you don’t need and things you want to donate)
  • Garbage bags for salvos
  • Laundry hampers (the number will depend on your household)
  • Boxes

Anything really that you can use to store something in.  The whole idea is to sort through your belongings, have a few piles and something disposable to get rid of the ones you don’t have and put the rest into some kind of storage container.

If you want to get organised along the way as you go, and you have these things or are willing to spend some money on them, these things will also be useful:

  • White/black/cork board
  • Laminator
  • Labeller
  • Laundry hampers (more than one will help sorting)
  • Boxes for storing
  • Kitchen containers
  • Drawer separators
  • Coloured stickers

For those of you who are thinking of cleaning as you go, you might be interested in having some cleaning products ready.  It’s also a great way to get through the rest of your almost empty bottles of cleaners, or trial some homemade ones if you’ve never gone that way before.  You can do the research yourself if you like, or you can try a few things I’ve listed in previous posts

Slide1

 

I use a lot of vinegar and bicarb, it works wonders all through the house.

I would suggest cleaners for the bathroom

  • Window cleaner
  • Something for shower/bath
  • Sink
  • Floor
  • Toilet

That should cover pretty much the whole house, although you might like to add:

  • Carpet cleaner
  • Oven cleaner
  • A duster (socks could do the trick and you can wash them – makes good use of odd socks)

Clean out your vacuum or dust buster, and get a broom and dustpan and brush.

Now you should be ready to join me.

Make your list and decide what you want to get out of this.  Make a time plan of what rooms you want to get done in what time.

This is a copy of my plan for this month.  I’ve scheduled a task for each day I have off this week starting tomorrow, I know that sounds like I will be exhausted at the end, but remember not every room is a full job on it’s own.  There will be room to move things around, and I might even have a chance to adjust things, and where one room might take me all day another might only take a few hours, leaving more time for me.

Spring-tember calender

 

This way I don’t have to do any extra jobs on my work days, unless I want to to keep a day off free and I will be finished by the end of the month.  As you can see it shouldn’t take me longer than 1 week consecutively, so it just shows how easy it is to get your house into top condition in 1 week, get organised and de-clutter.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Spring-tember Spring Cleaning Kit

  1. Outstanding post however , I was wondering if you could write a
    litte more on this topic? I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate
    a little bit more. Appreciate it!

    http://www.romazone.org/wbb3//index.php//index.php//index.php/index.php?page=User&userID=48259

  2. I hardly leave a response, however I looked at a few of the comments
    here Spring-tember Spring Cleaning Kit | My Housewife Life.

    I do have a couple of questions for you if it’s allright.
    Is it simply me or do a few of the remarks look like they are left by brain dead individuals?

    😛 And, if you are posting at additional online sites, I’d like to keep up with
    anything fresh you have to post. Would you post a list of
    every one of your public sites like your linkedin profile,
    Facebook page or twitter feed?

Leave a Reply

