2 Week Accountability Challenge: Day 13

So on Friday the 13th (day 13) my check in is a bit embarrassing…  Have I mentioned before how weak I am?  Today I totally out-did myself but for a good cause, if there ever is one.

Ok, so I’ll start at the start.  I didn’t pack or prepare anything last night for work today, so I grabbed a protein bar for breakfast, and took a small can of tuna and some thin rice cakes for lunch today.  But the worst part was when I got home.  I was starving and reached for some plain corn chips…  Mistake #1.  Mistake #2 happened as a result of some bad news we received.  My partner uses food to comfort himself, and since this particular news was upsetting I felt if this is all he wanted then who was I to stop something so small, after all it’s probably the least I could do given the circumstances (which I apologise for, but just can’t share at this point in time).  But, we went and had fast food.  Needless to say, I could’ve made better choices, watched my intake blah blah blah.  But I didn’t.  I overate, and now I feel horrible for it.  I feel bloated and yucky, and resisting a food coma.

I know this doesn’t seem like such a big deal, but it is to me.  My big struggle is my weight, and I’m failing at the moment, I’m constantly trying to stay motivated, but I continue to struggle getting to bed on time, I can’t get up in the mornings (to the point I recently overslept and was an hr late for work), I keep making excuses not to go to the gym and opting for workouts at home plus I’m reaching for comfort foods.  I remember when I was losing my weight I was so good, I couldn’t be tempted for anything, now I just seem to make excuses, promise to change “tomorrow” and continue to make excuses.  I don’t think I’ve gained recently (or though I probably have tonight), but I have more to move and I want to tone, but I need to lose these extra kilos first.

So what do we do when we fall off the horse?  We don’t quit, we get back on.  So I’ve already made plans for tomorrow, I’m “planning” to get up at 5:30 and hit the gym, before some commitments we have tomorrow, and then afternoon shift at work.  I’m not going to feel like it, I know, I already caved today, after I was too exhausted after work.  I don’t always put off my compensation for the day after, I will also do a few small things that I can do from home.  I have my stability ball right next to me, and my pilates chair behind me.  So there will be some workout tonight in addition to some hard cardio tomorrow.  Who knows, if the gym is deserted I might have the confidence to do some weights too.

I think it’s time to make a motivation board, to keep my eye on the prize.  I know I need something.

I plan to make tomorrow the perfect end to my challenge…  And maybe I need to follow up with another one soon.  Maybe a reward system this time to motivate me.

Blergh!

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

