What Are Our “Weekends” For?

How do you see your days off?  Are they a chance to wind down?  A chance to catch up on housework?  Family time?  Or just simply take it as it comes?

I have a bit of a mixture.  I like to catch up on housework, prep some meals for work and get a chance to relax or do something for me.

Tonight is my Friday night (since I don’t work for the next two days – my weekend), I am catching up on my washing, cleaned up the kitchen and bathroom.  I don’t do a full on clean, but just enough to tidy up, I’d even go as far as vacuuming and sweeping but not mopping.  If that makes any sense.

I’ve had a really busy week and feel like I’ve let the house get the better of me, it’s definitely easy to see who does the housework around here though.  I’m not complaining, just making an observation.

This might seem like a lot but I have a bit of a priority/to-do list for my “weekend”:

  • Sort/clean out my kitchen (focus on fridge and pantry)
  • Meal prep
  • Bathroom
  • Work presentation
  • Floors
  • Catch up with family

I have spend a fair amount of time this week looking at tupperware on ebay.  I’ve ordered a new deli container for pineapple/beetroot, I already have two of them, but I keep canned kidney beans and canned corn from time to time, so I thought I would take advantage…  Plus I’ve ordered the tupperware t bar set, I was hoping to find some decent protein bar recipes to make for work and post workouts.

Time to get into some new workout habits, or some old habits that seem to have been lost.  I know this is my constant goal, but circumstances this week have interfered.  Goal for tomorrow is to get to the gym, and Wednesday I have netball.  I need some more cardio, or I need to find a new way to get my cardio in at work.

What do you do to maintain your routine?  I should really just synch my workouts with work, but I just want to get a start, and there’s a yoga class on tomorrow night.

I think days off are the perfect time to get started on new changes.  Less commitments to coordinate, and more time to prepare and be organised.  And most of all NO EXCUSES!!!

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Getting Organised and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

