Meal Plan: 2:1 Liquid Ratio

Ok, so I know you’re meant to eat 3-5 meals per day, but I just can’t do it.  I’m not hungry enough for it.  Although I’m pretty sure my job would allow it, I feel like my meal breaks are too close to each other and I’ve had to develop a plan for that in the past.

Today my meal plan consisted of two liquid meals:

  • Breakfast: Dairy farmers oats express – just because I had them in the fridge luckily given that I don’t have a great deal of time today

oats express

 

  • Lunch/afternoon tea: Homemade berry smoothie

berry smoothie

 

Today I made it solely from mixed frozen berries, half a banana and 4-5 strawberries plus unsweetened almond milk.

And I found some latina pasta hiding in the fridge (parmesan and spinach), so I boiled that up and made a sauce of tomato paste, capsicum, onion, mushroom, spinach mixed with italian herbs.

This has been a strategy for me for a little while now, since it’s easier to digest liquids and they’re easy to have on the go I’ve been getting a lot of liquid breakfast drinks for the fridge.  It means my partner is more likely to eat breakfast, and if I’ve been too tired I have something to grab on the way to work to get me through morning tea, and prevent me buying at the kiosk.  It also means I can come home and have a cooked meal with my partner, practically guilt free.  I guess it’s kind of like the meal replacement ideas, but the smoothie is made of real food, and I should work on replacing that morning drink with a protein powder at some point, but I’m still in the process of researching and finding one I’m happy with.

The thing I’m liking about the liquid idea, is I can make a big batch and put it in the fridge to pull out for the following day, or to last about 3 days.  I would like to get into a vegetable smoothie, but I need to find some things I’d be happy to put together.

Oh, and I’m still searching for a protein bar recipe for my t bar when it arrives.

 

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Meal Planning and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

