Snacking – Prevention by Creating New Habits

I have recently found I’ve started a bad habit, one I haven’t had since I was a little girl.  Snacking the moment I get home from work.  There are several things I know I shouldn’t do, but for some reason I have a larger appetite than usual, and if I snack when I get home I end up having the wrong foods, and then I don’t feel like eating dinner.

This is part of the reason I talk so much about meal planning, for me it’s a necessity.  I had such a hard time after I finished school, gaining weight and then getting it off again.  Now I feel like I’m struggling to keep it off, and I still have a little way to go yet.  I would like to lose a little more, and I’m working at toning, but I know my biggest issue is the food I eat.

I figure there’s a few things I can try this week to curb this:

  • Clean out the pantry and restock with only things I would be happy consuming
  • Only go shopping on a full stomach (or not at all)
  • Have a drink when I first get home and see how I feel afterwards
  • Plan healthy snacks and always have something healthy on hand just incase

These ideas can go so far.  I also need to incorporate the “need” philosophy.  When you go shopping ask yourself “do I really need this?”  If the answer is no, then you don’t buy it, this will help you save money also.  I find that in the past when I’ve incorporated this idea, I save money and I don’t buy half the things I would have bought otherwise.  If you have to imagine what your partner would say, or even don’t go shopping alone.

Remember what you buy you will end up eating.  Make a shopping list and stick to it, and try to avoid recipes with too much sugar.  Do you really need a sweet treat?  Could you go for something healthier?

Try having smoothies on hand, or fresh fruit, healthy slices, rice cakes, celery and carrot sticks.  If you’re going to the fridge because you’re bored, make yourself a drink and go find something to do.  Keep yourself busy to begin with, once you break the cycle it will get easier.

Prevent baking cookies, cakes and slices.  Find a healthier alternative.

Try to find someone with similar goals.  I think it’s fun to do some meal planning with a friend, have a friend over and make a big batch of meals you can share and inspire each other.  Share recipes, it’s something so small but it will help you get motivated.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Health/Fitness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

