Suffering Migraines

I suffer horribly from migraines, I have ever since I was 18, when I got the first bad one.  Sometimes it makes me sick, other times it’s just the throbbing and I can manage with some medication.  The funny thing is though that when I do throw up, usually it gets worse initially but then it passes (not every time – there’s always an exception to the rule).

My causes can vary.  From dehydration, stress, glare to just positioning.  I think I’ve been on top of the dehydration lately so I’ve stopped getting as many, but now I think I’m getting them from positioning.  I went at least 2 weeks where I woke up with a headache (not a severe one – but one that could go that way), the first response I get to this is that it must be my mattress or pillow.  I’ve tried this, I bought an expensive mattress and some fancy pillows.  But I still get them.

I woke up with a headache this morning, but I was too tired to get out of bed so I managed to get back to sleep.  Now I’ve just gotten out of bed and it’s horrible, plus I have to go to work this afternoon, and my gym plans are on hold again.  I’ve just taken some pain killers, and I did an exercise showed to me that a family member was recommended by her osteopath.  It helps, but not as much as the medication.  In addition the doctor has me taking blood pressure tablets for my migraines, the only problem is that I don’t always remember to take them.

I really should get to the osteopath myself, and see if these recent ones where I wake up with them, could possibly be because my neck/back needs realignment.  At this point I’m open to anything that might work.

Headaches can be so debilitating, mine aren’t as bad as some.  I hear of people who can’t move because of them, stuck in a dark room and unable to get back to their life for days on end.  Mine aren’t this bad, sure a dark room helps, and my head struggles with brightness, I’ve only ever had the flashing lights a few times but they are often hard to handle, especially if I don’t have medication.

And on that note.  I think I’ll go and take my blood pressure meds to see if that helps, and drink more water.  I’m wondering if it’s partly from yesterday.  I went to the gym, then to netball and I hadn’t had that much water before I started.

There are alternatives you can try for migraines/headaches.  Yoga is meant to be good, it’s calming and relaxing, but by the time I have a headache it’s too late I wouldn’t be able to tolerate it.  There’s crystal therapy, meditation, laying in a warm bath, the list goes on and on.  But I think it’s important first to find out what your cause is, and go from there.

On that note I think I should be shopping for an osteopath.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Health/Fitness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

