Spring-tember Spring Cleaning: Laundry/Bathroom

I know I’m a bit behind with this. A few things got in my way this week, I was asked to swap a shift which was unfortunate, plus we’ve had a few unexpected family visits. Now I know I’m behind with the kitchen clean up, but last night I ordered some modular mates so I can organise my pantry cupboard.

So instead, on my last day off (2 days ago) I cleaned out the laundry and bathroom since I’m so far behind.

Laundry:

My laundry is pretty good most of the time. I do get behind sometimes, but my biggest issue with our house is the size of our laundry. Well I have three issues with this house, the storage for my sewing room cupboard which I’ve posted about before, the lack of pantry in the kitchen, and our tiny laundry.

Tips for de-cluttering:

  • Throw out old laundry detergents, bleach etc
  • Remove anything that doesn’t belong there
  • Tidy out the cupboards
  • Sort through linen cupboards

I don’t have much in the way of advice because I’ve never had a large laundry, but I’ll see how I go. Remember I am always open for suggestion.

Tips for getting organised:

  • Use multiple hampers, drawers, boxes, tubs etc to organise washing loads (by colours, works clothes, towels – whatever you’d like)
  • Set up a washing schedule and hang it in the laundry for your family to be aware
  • Pack away each load as they come out of the dryer or in off the line (this is how I keep my washing from seeming like a big task I can’t handle – even when I used to work for a family of 7)
  • Set up an inside clothes line or clothes hangers

Tips for cleaning:

  • Mop floor
  • Run a rinse through the washing machine
  • Clean out the lint tray on the dryer

This is my laundry currently after a bit of a tidy up, just need to mop the floor
20130920-140048.jpg

(My dryer is next to the washing machine, too big for a photo but not much practical room)

Bathroom:

Tips for de-cluttering:

  • Throw out old shampoos/conditioners
  • Sort through vanity drawers, put away anything that doesn’t belong there – organise drawers by categories (eg: ours is 1- things we use regularly, medications, make up etc 2- is my partners and 3- is mine. We use the bottom for things we don’t use as often)
  • Remove clutter from sink and find a home
  • Clean out anything that doesn’t belong in the shower and on the bath

Tips for organising:

  • Think of ways you can organise your bathroom, it will always be different from house to house
  • Use a hamper in the bathroom to discourage dirty clothes being thrown on the floor
  • Consider a rack for storing clean towels – especially if someone in your house always forgets
  • Consider a shelf for the shower, above the sink or bath depending on your needs – I have been thinking about getting one for the shower for some time now, I’m not a big fan of the ones you hang over the shower head, but I have seen some that suction onto the tiles, the only thing that holds me back is the fear that it will fall and break on the tiled floor
  • Have a special coloured box to hide extra items for the toilet area and either pop it on the window sill near the toilet or on a little shelf if you have one in there
  • Consider a toilet roll holder – this is something I need to get

Cleaning the bathroom:

  • Bleach is always a good option – or anything that contains bleach
  • Give the shower a good clean – you may need a grout brush if you have mould in between the tiles
  • A good glass/window cleaner for the shower screens and mirrors
  • Wash all the towels and mats
  • Clean the sink
  • Clean bathtub
  • Mop the floor
  • As a special extra I sometimes like to use something to deodorise in there, anything from essential oils to incense will do.

Here’s my finished bathroom, I’ve scrubbed my shower screens with everything I could think of but bleach, it’s my last hope!
20130920-150044.jpg20130920-150104.jpg

20130920-150114.jpg

Good luck with your bathroom – I don’t have all the extras I want in my bathroom just yet, so I’m making do with what I have.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spring-tember Spring Cleaning: Laundry/Bathroom

  1. Your bathroom and laundry room look so fresh and organized! I need to do this. Thank you for the inspiration!

    • Thank you – I think it makes a big difference when you do a total over-haul. Sometimes I like to re-arrange the living room for something different and I feel like I know there’s no clutter because I’ve been thorough enough during the process to go through everything, including a vacuum under the lounge.

      I just like change. What can I say lol

Leave a Reply

