Meal Planning: Goji Berries

I have been really busy this week, hence the few posts lately. However I have received my new tupperware orders, and it always leaves me longing for more, since I couldn’t afford to get exactly what I needed, I had to make do with what I got for the meantime. But I have a kind of “Tupperware bucket list” that I’m chipping away at.

I have made a few changes for the week (I’m currently on my “long weekend”), so I’m commencing a plan for my following week at work. Since I have been really bad diet wise (but great with my exercise planning), I never seem to get them both right at the same time.

I don’t remember if I posted previously about goji berries. Now I’m hearing everywhere about how they are a “superfood” and it’s plastered all over the packaging too. Well I tried dark chocolate covered goji berries last week or the week before, I figured if they’re covered in chocolate at least if the berry itself doesn’t taste that great it won’t matter too much. I’ve discovered a new favourite treat, and I plan to use them as a healthy alternative treat I think, or maybe that’s just my way of justifying their consumption.

20130926-215922.jpg20130926-215930.jpg

Now a few days ago I found goji muesli in the health food section, I was thinking about it and decided to give it a go, it’s great with milk as a cereal or with yoghurt for breakfast.

20130926-220032.jpg20130926-220039.jpg

So my plan for this working week is to have goji muesli and yoghurt/milk for breakfast, and mix up lunches with salad, fruit smoothies or tuna and thin rice cakes. Tonight I have made my own muesli bars with the tupperware tbar, I searched long and hard trying to find a recipe I could use for it using only the ingredients I had at home (just to try it out) but in the end I just made it up. I used already mixed muesli with almonds and apricots, coconut, chopped up hazelnuts and walnuts and mixed with golden syrup and condensed milk. I figure I can learn from process of elimination, however I think maybe next time I’ll get some goji berries if I’ve mastered the recipe and I can start experimenting.

New healthy options this week.  I’m planning to keep an eye out in the health food section for some new inspiration.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Meal Planning, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

