What Motivates You During a Workout?

I’m looking for some motivation here!

I must admit my workout isn’t as easy to get through as it used to be.  I’m missing out on a third of it since I dropped the treadmill, so I’ve dropped 20mins worth and started just the 20mins on the cross trainer and 20mins on the exercise bike.  I must admit it doesn’t feel the same, I loved the jogging on the treadmill, I say this because by far this was my favourite part.  I got my heart rate up higher and if the right music came on vhits I was able to push harder, I was even getting my jogging interval duration longer and longer to the point I was actually jogging for half the time.  I know that doesn’t sound like much but it was for me.

I have lacked a lot of motivation lately, my pilates chair has been put away (partly because I thought it made the room look untidy, but also it’s getting hotter in the house and I need to either get home workouts done in the morning, late evening or under the air conditioner.  I’ve been a little slack lately, I’ve been tired and weak and I need to get it all back.  I have been good the last week, pushed myself even when I didn’t feel like it.  I have developed a plan at the moment for the days when I’m really struggling:

  • Aim for workout – 600 calories in 40mins
  • Cross trainer: 360 calories in 20mins on level 9 (push on an extra minute if need be – but I usually reach that target)
  • Exercise bike: 240 calories in 20mins on level 8 (push on an extra minute if need be – I usually get it in just under 21mins)

So my next motivation aim is to take an mp3 player/phone along with me all geared up with a play list for my motivation songs.  The only thing that worries me is having enough songs and maybe making up alternate play lists so that I don’t get bored, and having them in an order that can keep me pumped.  Since my current plan is at least 4 days of cardio a week I would like to have 4 play lists, and maybe if I can keep the motivation up at the end I would like to add another 10 mins to my cross trainer and bike times to get me back up to an hour.

So tomorrow I’m off to the gym…  Armed with my phone for music motivation as a trial to see what I can do.  I think it’s amazing the extra push we can give if we have the right motivation, sometimes I see I’m breaking my own record and it makes me push harder no matter how exhausted I am.  But, maybe I’ll have to work my way back up to an hour.  It’s easy to do 20mins on any one machine, but pushing to 30 seems so far away.  And, for some reason my feet get numb on the cross trainer, something else to trouble shoot, I have read tonight that it might be my shoes, which are very cheap and don’t really fit very well.

Something to add to the to-do list:  New shoes!

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Health/Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What Motivates You During a Workout?

  1. Good day! This post could not be written any better! Reading this post reminds me of
    my previous room mate! He always kept talking about this.
    I will forward this post to him. Pretty sure he will have
    a good read. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Nice blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?

    A design like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make
    my blog shine. Please let me know where you got your design.

    Kudos

Leave a Reply

