Meal Planning: Heat n Eat – Sausage Rolls, Risotto and Pumpkin Soup

So I have a pretty hectic week coming up. My partner has a birthday which means I have to make him a cake in the middle of the week, I have a varying roster (mornings, afternoons and nights) so I need to make sure I have something ready to go.

The plan was to get ahead this week and make some pumpkin soup for heat and eat options. I started cutting up pumpkin and found some mushrooms that needed using, so I started a risotto, and while in the cupboard thought about making some sausage rolls… Here I am 2-3 hours later, vegetable risotto in the freezer and fridge (in portions), pumpkin just finished baking and 35 mini sausage rolls in the freezer. I feel far more productive than I thought I would be when I got up this morning (I was barely motivated to get up and make my partner eggs for breakfast, but once I get started that’s it).  And, since I have to go back to work tomorrow I feel prepared, it seems I might have enough go-to meals for the next 2-4 weeks.  Assuming we think of other things we’d like to have in between like we usually do.

Pumpkin soup in portions to freeze: that’s not all of it, there’s some in the fridge too.

20130928-163937.jpg

Freshly made sausage rolls ready to freeze for quick and easy dinners:

20130928-163949.jpg

 

 

So now it seems we’re all set for the week. Now I’ve cleaned out the pantry after the sausage rolls and risotto, I have a nice big shopping list for the week.

Here’s our meal plan for this week:

Dinners:

  • Risotto
  • Pumpkin soup
  • Vegetarian Sausage Rolls with veggies
  • Vegetarian sausages and veggies (I’m trying my partner out on the sausages – hopefully he likes them then we don’t have to buy two types)

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not a vegetarian, I just know those two dishes in particular aren’t very healthy and I actually don’t mind the veggie sausages and sausage rolls.

Lunches:

  • Sandwiches
  • Salads
  • Tuna
  • Muesli bars
  • Goji muesli and yoghurt (also a breakfast option for work)

The muesli bars I made a few days ago, I baked them and then refrigerated and now they seem to be holding together:
20130928-164134.jpg

Now just to clean up and get the kitchen back to the way it was before this expedition began.

I figure once the meals are organised for the week, my washing is all caught up, and the bathroom is clean I can now take the week head on.

And spend the rest of my evening either catching up on a workout and/or relaxing.

How do you prepare for your week?

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Meal Planning and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Meal Planning: Heat n Eat – Sausage Rolls, Risotto and Pumpkin Soup

  1. Making pumpkin soup from scratch is way over my head. I’ll bet it is delicious!
    I will prepare for the week by having a fresh loaf of bread for the girls’ school sandwiches. That’s all I’m usually low on. I have to mop the office since I have clients coming in for web design. Pretty low-key week.

    • It is very nice, and I try to avoid cream so I guess it’s as healthy as it can be, it’s only made from pumpkin, vegetable stock, onion, curry powder and cumin. It’s much easier than you’d think. The longest part is cooking the pumpkin, once that’s done it wouldn’t take longer than 15mins for the rest. I’ll post the recipe on my blog incase you’re ever interested in trying it. All you really need is a blender or you could use a handheld potato masher…

      Thank you for sharing, I always feel so under organised and end up searching the cupboards for something to take to work. When I read your reply I felt like I had a light bulb moment, sandwiches… Why do I never consider to take something so easy yet versatile for lunch?

      • I’d love to try this recipe! You make me feel like I could make it. Thanks!

      • You’re welcome! I love cooking and I’m always looking for new things to make, especially something quick and easy. Plus I freeze this recipe and keep it for afternoon shifts at work, or emergencies. I like to have something in the freezer just incase I get called to work at the last minute, and if my partner gets desperate enough (he’s not a big fan of pumpkin soup he prefers tomato or vegetable soup) then there’s something there for him to eat too.

        I’ve just gotten home from work, but I will try and post it real soon.

Leave a Reply

