Ratio Diet – 4:2:1

Technically today is the first day of the week.  I have an afternoon shift today so I’m off to hit the gym.  As you know I’m always trying to improve my diet and my exercise, although I haven’t always been like this, I think you get to a certain point and you know it’s just time to change.

My partner has decided to do something about his waist line, he’s starting to notice that his pants are getting rather snug.  So he asked me to help him, he figures I don’t help because I like to cook and he likes his food.  He asks me to make something and I make it, and I think he’s regretting the doughnuts the other night, because I have never really been good at making small batches.

So I had a bit of a think and I read a blog post from someone on the paleo diet.  Now I know he won’t stick to the paleo, however this person was also doing an adaption of the 5:2 ratio diet I keep hearing about, whereby you eat 1200-1600 calories for 5 days of the week, and only 500 for the other two days.  Only he had a rest day where he could eat anything he wanted, either once a week or once a fortnight.  The way this works is that the day you eat whatever you like means that you reboot your system.  If we eat low amounts of calories consistently our bodies will adapt and we plateau, however if we occasionally do something out of the ordinary we can try to prevent that and continue our progress.

So I’m doing up a plan for him.  I want him to stick to it for 4 weeks and see what the progress is.  I’ll get him to measure his waist and see where we are in 4 weeks time.

The plan:

  • Sunday: 1200 calories
  • Monday: 1200 calories
  • Tuesday: 500 calories
  • Wednesday: 1200 calories
  • Thursday: (due to commitments) free day
  • Friday: 500 calories
  • Saturday: 1200 calories

Personally I think the free day is necessary to take care of cravings, and it will help to pick a milestone to get to and have a small reward.  However I don’t think it should be an all you can eat day.  Just more relaxed and include a few indulgences.

So today I take all the treats I’ve made to work and leave them on the tea room table.  It’s the quickest way to see food disappear I’ve ever seen.  We’re eliminating any temptation, and ensuring only healthy food at home.  However I am leaving him to his own devices for dinner tonight, I don’t think I’ve got anything he’d eat for dinner.

I’ve left him a plan for today, I think the main thing is to make sure we have a meal plan and something easily accessible so he doesn’t opt for easy snacks when I’m not home.

  • Breakfast: Cereal (weet-bix) or up and go
  • Lunch: Berry smoothie
  • Dinner: Chilli con carne

I’ve told him he can still have his coffees if we skip the snacks at this stage and see how the results go.

We wants me to keep my posts up to date with his progress as his own accountability.  I might even get him to post a guest post.  We’ll measure his waist and get a weight and do weekly updates on the physical progress.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Health/Fitness, Ratio 4:2:1 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ratio Diet – 4:2:1

  1. This sounds like a good plan! What will you eat on the 500 calorie days? I’d love to stick with a plan. I tried “Eat To Live” and Slim-Fast, but still revert back to my typical eating habits.

  2. I’ve set out a rough plan, at least just to get us through this week. I need to do a little more research on this, and find more very low calorie foods. But for this week the 500 calories days are as follows:

    Breakfast: fruit (a banana, or two apples) any fruit combination adding up to 100 calories
    Lunch: Light yoghurt I have a yoghurt that only has 77 calories per serve and each serve is approximately 300g.
    Dinner: Soup (he likes tomato soup) I calculate soup at 90 calories per can

    Snacks: I’m looking at celery sticks (which are a calorie deficit – they take more calories to chew than what you actually get), and carrot sticks with hommus (hommus is about 40 calories per serve – about the same as a carrot)

    As I do some more research I’ll keep you posted.

    I’ve done the Tony Furgusson diet, and Lemon Detox all of which I did lose weight on, but I was the same, I lost 6kgs on the Lemon detox and gained it all back. The only thing that really worked for me was something similar to what my partner is attempting now. I ate little amounts on some days, but tried to keep within the 1200 most days, and I would compensate the following day if I had a blow out. I think it needs to be small changes, and something you can stick to. Plus this plan won’t cost anything out of the ordinary.

    I’ll keep posting his progress.

Leave a Reply

