4:2:1 – Day 5: 500 Calories

My partner had his 500 calorie day today.  So far it seems to have been a pretty hefty struggle.  I had to work so I wasn’t here for most of it, but I left him with some options, as always we make meal plans but it didn’t go exactly according to plan.

He opted for an up and go for breakfast, there goes 200 calories straight up, all he had over the day was home made coffee with unsweetened almond milk and one sugar (as aposed to the usual 2 sugars – which I calculate to around 60 calories for two coffees which is the total so far).

When I got home this afternoon he was starving, I went shopping on the way and got some healthy low calorie options for him to have stocked up at home:

  • Celery
  • Crackers
  • Tomato
  • Capsicum
  • Bananas
  • Almond milk (unsweetened)
  • Tomato soup

Since I’ve been home I offered to make him a salad for a late lunch, I calculate it adding up to around 100 calories.  I used baby spinach, tomato, capsicum, beetroot and a small amount of greek dressing, and he’s just now had the tomato soup.

Today was hard for him, so I will have to do some more research on low calorie foods that he can try for the next 500 calorie day.  Tomorrow he’s back to 1200 which will seem so much easier now after what he went through today.

He’s finding the best coping mechanisms are distraction and drinking in between.

He weighed in to see if there was any inspiration to get through the day, and it turns out he’s lost almost 500grams, and feels much better for the diet change.  Considering he usually eats big heavy meals, pasta, mince and lots of homemade treats.  I’m always making a slice, muffins, scones.  I should look for some healthy alternatives.  As it is I’m making a banana bread to take to work in the morning because our bananas won’t last much longer and I hate to waste food.

Tomorrow’s plan: 1200 calories (we’re making plans to remain on track)

  • Up and go or weet-bix for breakfast
  • Snacks of crackers tomato and cheese/celery and hummus
  • Lunch: left over tomato soup
  • Dinner: Marinated fish and veggies (sweet potato, carrot and corn?)

I really need to find some diet friendly meal options.  My problem is a opt for pasta dishes because I love it.  I would even go as far as to say I would gladly skip lunch for pasta, maybe just smaller portions in moderation.

 

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Ratio 4:2:1 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 4:2:1 – Day 5: 500 Calories

  1. Sounds like a very tough day. I’m proud of you both!
    Are you in England?

Leave a Reply

