4:2:1 Night Duty on 500 Calories

I started night duty this week, for the first time in a few months, and I had to think about how best to manage this diet while being on nights.  To be honest I don’t find it that hard.  In the past I didn’t eat much on my night duties.  Especially if it’s busy.  In the past I wouldn’t really eat anything, maybe a yoghurt about halfway through, get breakfast on my way home and sleep all day, getting up just in time for dinner and do the whole thing all over again.  Makes me wonder why I can’t do that on day shift, but on the other hand I wonder if that’s me preventing my body clock from getting too out of whack.  After all it keeps the eating out of the night, and tries to keep it all during the times I would normally eat.

Yesterday was our free day, although I really didn’t do too badly.  We went out for brunch, I had cannelloni and chips, then for my night duty I packed some celery sticks, carrot sticks, homemade hummus, a homemade muesli bar and some crackers.

My partner had a burger when we went out and pizza for dinner.  Today we’re back to 500 calories.

My night duty plan: (you can always adapt your diet to fit your routine)

  •  6pm Dinner (after my sleep) thin rice crackers and tuna
  • Snacks for work of celery and carrot sticks with hummus
  • Breakfast smoothie (berries, kiwi fruit and unsweetened almond milk)

I’m counting my “day” from when I wake up until when I go back to bed tomorrow…  As that’s what I would normally count during the day.  If I make a coffee at work it will account for approximately 50-60 calories.

 

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Ratio 4:2:1 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

