4:2:1 Update: 1.5 weeks (Avoid Emotional Eating)

So my partner and I have been on this diet now for about a week and a half. As I mentioned previously we did have a set back, with a death in the family but we tried not to let that change our eating habits, after all we have a funeral to go to now and need to fit into those clothes. I actually think it’s a test of our wills, to maintain our intake and avoid emotional eating. That can be a downfall for many people, I remember when I first started to gain weight that was one of my biggest problems. I would notice my pants getting snug and I would go shopping with my brother, by something to make me happy and go out for dinner (back then it was probably KFC while we were at the shops). For some reason we seem to attribute pleasuring our taste buds as a pleasure for us. But, it doesn’t have to be that way. I’m sure you can think of many dishes you love to eat that really aren’t bad tasting.

So we have maintained our diet. Today is another 500 calorie day. Now I don’t know if I might’ve been cheating with this and I know I eat less on night duty at work. I find I’m busy, I have plenty to be occupied with and essentially on that shift, that is my day time. So I treat my 500 calorie “day” starting from when I wake up from my sleep in the evening (today that was 5pm), either I have a snack or just cook dinner straight up, then I pack some snacks for work, we get one break but I can often eat right at the desk while I read through notes or write mine. Snacks for night duty are always basic as I don’t ever sit in the tea room, or I’m bound to have patients pressing their buzzers and in the night we have more patients.

Night duty snacks are usually something really healthy:

  • Homemade muesli bars
  • Carrot/Celery sticks and dip
  • Crackers
  • Steamed veggies
  • Salad

I often have a lot of coffee and that will make me feel full too, but also helps me to feel warm. Then I will either have a snack on the way home, or have breakfast at home and head to bed. I think it’s important to eat something before bed, even though that turns into the “night” for me, and I would never eat anything right before bed in the night normally, I think since I barely eat during the night (on night duty) I’ll have a higher chance of waking up hungry. They say you should eat something with protein before bed, but I figure I just need something. This morning it was the celery and carrot sticks I hadn’t eaten at work.

I find that if you do your homework and find things you like that are light, it’s actually not so bad. I don’t mind celery but my partner does, so I have to find alternatives for him, carrots are not so bad, I realise they have sugar but they fit into the calorie restrictions and since I’ve lost about 2kgs (plus I’ve exercised a few times), I figure it can’t be so bad considering my results.

So far I have noticed a few things, my appetite is beginning to adjust as I pay attention to it and start to recognise when I’m actually hungry. My tummy is a little flatter, and I feel better for it.

Tonight I just cooked some veggies for dinner, broccoli, carrot, corn and mashed sweet potato. According to my calculations it was around 250 calories, and I have a salad packed for during the night. Equates to about 200 calories, that leaves me room for coffees over night and maybe some carrots on the way home if I need it.

20131009-195745.jpg

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Ratio 4:2:1 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

