Meal Plan: Snack Ideas

I like to have last minute snack ideas. In our house this is usually crackers and dip, at the moment I’m really enjoying the roast pumpkin and cashew ones at our supermarket, but my go to dip is usually hummus. Although I’m still trying to perfect my recipe and my magic bullet isn’t blending well enough to get through the amount of chic peas I use.

20131026-213245.jpg

This was an idea I had one night for a quick dinner/late snack. Not incredibly healthy but hey are so nice. They’re homemade vegetarian sausage rolls. Most of my friends cringe when they hear me mention them, but they contain none of the usual vegetarian ingredients you would expect. Just oats, nuts, breadcrumbs, herbs (if you look through holder posts I have posted the recipe). But even my partner eats them so they can’t be all that bad.

Now Christmas is coming up I’m starting to get into the spirit and this week I made chocolate balls, with rum essence (that way they’re safe enough to take to work).

20131026-213719.jpg

They are a favourite. Tomorrow I’m making weet bix slice because my Dad is coming over. I like having a few healthy options available, and I don’t often snack between meals, but sometimes it’s just nice to have these things on hand for a change.

Currently I’m looking for new inspirations, and healthy snack ideas. A few things to try before Christmas too.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Meal Planning and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

